Guest Post & #Giveaway: Megan Morgan-City Nights: One Night in Cleveland @morgan_romance

tourbutton_onenightincleveland

WRITING FOR THE CITY NIGHTS SERIES

One Night In Cleveland is my second contribution to Tirgearr Publishing’s City Nights series. I also wrote One Night In Chicago. Cleveland (where I live) and Chicago (which I love to visit) are two of my favorite cities, so it wasn’t hard to pick the venues for my tales. But why write for City Nights in the first place? What’s the lure?

Mainly, I love the concept. I’m a city girl at heart, I found this out when I moved from the rural town where I spent most of my life to a big city in my early thirties. I love stories set in cities, especially sprawling, cosmopolitan ones where anything could happen. That’s the draw of cities: so many people and so many chances for adventure, lust-filled or otherwise. When I found out the City Nights series existed, I was excited to write something for it, and the fact no one had snagged up my two favorite cities already was a sign. I’ve been to Chicago many times and I love writing about it—much of my work is set there, across the multiple genres I write in. I’ve lived in Cleveland long enough I can tell you about it inside and out and I wanted to represent it, too.

In One Night In Cleveland, my hero Matt is a chef in an upscale Tremont restaurant. Tremont is Cleveland’s artsy, trendy hipster neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars. Matt originally hails from Little Italy, another popular Cleveland neighborhood that hosts the biggest Italian festival in the city every August. My heroine Caylee is a cop with the Cleveland PD. She’s good at her job, despite the awkward accident that brings her in contact with Matt—Caylee mistakes him for a wanted criminal and accidentally arrests him. But instead of Matt getting angry, sparks of attraction fly.

Hard working and brave, Caylee is also dealing with the task of keeping her contrary widowed grandmother out of harm’s way. Matt is trying to remake himself and find something to be proud of after a checkered and difficult past. Desire may blossom into love one day, but at the moment, they can’t resist simply getting a taste of each other.

The City Nights series leads readers on a sexy tour around the world. Each story takes place in a twenty-four hour timeframe, and all of the stories are standalone, so you can read them in any order you wish. I love the concept behind City Nights and I’m sure I’ll be picking another city to play in soon!

divider1One_Night_in_Cleveland_by_Megan_Morgan-200blurbChef Matt Fattore lives a clean and lawful life—so he doesn’t expect to meet the woman of his wet dreams by being arrested by her. When Lieutenant Caylee Benton of the Cleveland PD mistakes him for a wanted burglar, Matt finds out fantasies sometimes land right in your lap—and frisk you.

Sparks fly despite the misunderstanding and Matt decides to take a chance and ask her out—and maybe, coax her into bed. But Caylee is more than just a beautiful woman with a badge and a gun. While Matt is falling in lust with her, she’ll become his hero, too.

Matt is about to spend the wildest twenty-four hours of his life in Cleveland, and if he’s lucky, he’ll be in handcuffs by the end of the night.

BUY LINKS:

Amazon (US): http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0160IPLAE/

Amazon (UK): http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0160IPLAE

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/one-night-in-cleveland-megan-morgan/1122731524

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/581499

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/one-night-in-cleveland/id1045140956

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/one-night-in-Cleveland

excerpt“Do you like being a cop?

She nodded. “I do. It can be grueling sometimes, but I like helping people. I like knowing I took somebody dangerous off the street so people out there can be a little safer.”

“There’s lots of dangerous people on the streets, though.” 

“Job security.” She checked out the tattoos on his arms. Lots of designs and lots of color, over all that hard, rippling muscle. He could probably pick her up easily with those arms. “What about you? A chef. That sounds interesting.”

“It can be.”

“How long have you been one?” 

“About a year. I’ve worked in restaurants for a long time, though. The guy who owns this place, we used to work together in another restaurant.” 

Caylee stretched over to where a pile of menus sat on the bar. She plucked one up. “Let’s see what we have here.”

He glanced down and picked at his shirt. She was examining his artwork. 

“I like to keep things simple,” he said. “But diverse, you know? People like good-looking dishes, but they still want simple flavors, things they recognize. People nowadays, they eat different than they used to. A lot of vegetarians and vegans, I like to have options for them. Healthier things, too. And people who do eat meat, they like to know the animal was treated well before it ended up on their plate.” 

“Sounds hypocritical. I mean, either way it met its maker so you could put it in your mouth.” 

“I guess it helps some people justify their choices.” 

“What’s your favorite thing on here?” She put the menu down between them. 

Matt leaned in. She caught the scent of cologne, and beneath that a raw sweaty smell, not unpleasant. He smelled like a man. She tried not to squirm on her stool. 

He skimmed down the menu and she was momentarily distracted by his long, elegant fingers. “I’d have to say this linguini dish, here.” He tapped the item description. “It’s actually a take on my mom’s recipe. I’m Italian. I grew up in Little Italy.”

She pulled the menu back. “I need to eat here. I don’t get into Tremont very often. My job keeps me pretty busy.” 

“Arresting poor, innocent men minding their own business.” His tone was light and teasing. 

“Yes, but sometimes you accidentally arrest a poor, innocent, handsome man.” 

He smiled, his gaze drifting downward for a moment, to her chest. Her heart pounded. He’d put some kind of sexy spell on her, that could be the only explanation. 

“I hope you get your man,” he said. “I’m really sorry I look so much like him.” 

“Not up close, trust me. You’re much better looking.”

bioMegan Morgan is a multi-published award winning urban fantasy, paranormal romance, and erotica authorpicauthor from Cleveland, Ohio. Bartender by day and purveyor of things that go bump in the night, she’s trying to turn writing into her day job so she can be on the other side of the bar for a change. Hailing from the often-wintry shores of Lake Erie, she lives with an attention-seeking cat and her adult son, both of which shed too much.

Website: http://www.meganmorganauthor.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/morgan_romance

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/megan.morgan.author

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/1/116773473236786103709/about

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/mmorganauthor/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8380732.Megan_Morgan

Amazon Page: http://www.amazon.com/Megan-Morgan/e/B00LBHTUSE/

giveaway4

Make sure to follow the whole tour—the more posts you visit throughout, the more chances you’ll get to enter the giveaway. The tour dates are here: http://www.writermarketing.co.uk/prpromotion/blog-tours/currently-on-tour/megan-morgan-2/

 Click on link below to enter
a Rafflecopter giveaway

WMS_blogtourhostbutton

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for having me here today!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Great post, Megan. I also decided to go back and “do” another city, and I’ve just submitted a third. I’ve lived in all three, but I have one more city I think I could do justice to, if the story comes along to fit it. Good luck with Cleveland!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Vesme

     /  November 24, 2015

    Clearly I’m still 5 because the sentence “She tried not to squirm on her stool.” made me giggle. *Shakes head at self.* It’s very clear what was meant, I’m just a bit tired and thinking silly. I haven’t started One Night In Cleveland yet, and I have to admit I wasn’t super grabbed by the summary at first, but I know I enjoy your writing and the more I see of it the more interested I am in it. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • LOL! It’s okay, I’m still 5 sometimes too. 😉 I’m glad you’re willing to give it a shot even though it didn’t catch your interest. Thank you for that!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Now on tour | Megan Morgan

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

