Guest Post and #Giveaway: Native Tongue by Lucy Felthouse (@cw1985) #gay #romance #mm

tourbutton_nativetongue

Coming Out by Lucy Felthouse

When I started writing Native Tongue I knew there’d be a coming out scene in there somewhere. It had to happen—the boys met and fell in love in a situation where coming out wasn’t an option, but once their lives moved to England, they couldn’t stay in the closet any longer.

I didn’t worry too much about writing the scene because every single person on this planet is different and therefore it means that there’s no “right” way to come out, and no “right” way for others to react. It’s down to each individual person, so once I got there I just wrote what came naturally to me. I suppose I was inspired a little bit by my experiences of friends coming out to me, but otherwise I didn’t do any research or anything, for the reasons I mentioned above.

Hugh Wilkes’ family don’t feature in the first book, so it was nice for me as the author to meet them, and although they’re not a huge part of the second book, I became very fond of them.

Hugh Wilkes is pretty sure his family members are going to be okay with him being gay, but that didn’t mean he’d find it easy to come out. There was still a lot of nervousness, which is why it was great that his boyfriend, Rustam Balkhi, was there to support him.

Overall, this scene was pretty easy to write, and I didn’t worry about it too much, but it was still fantastic to have a comment from a reader that said it was a great scene because it was so similar to what had happened in their own family! I didn’t plan it that way, but I’m happy to know it resonated with someone.

I hope you enjoy this snippet, and will check out the rest of the boys’ story.

Happy Reading,

Lucy x

divider3

nativetongueblurbThey may be back on British soil, but the battle isn’t over.

When Captain Hugh Wilkes fell for his Afghan interpreter, Rustam Balkhi, he always knew things would never be easy. After months of complete secrecy, their return to England should have spelt an end to the sneaking around and the insane risks. But it seems there are many obstacles for them to overcome before they can truly be happy together. Can they get past those obstacles, or is this one battle too many for their fledgling relationship?

Buy links: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk/published-works/native-tongue/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25462496-native-tongue

**For those of you that haven’t yet read Desert Heat (which is recommended before picking up this book), there’s a great value two book bundle available exclusively on Amazon, and is FREE to Kindle Unlimited members: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk/published-works/desert-heat-native-tongue/ **

divider3

excerpt“We normally save that for when we’ve got booze, but yeah, tea works.” He raised his own cup, by now handed to him by his mother, then took a sip. Seeing the madness had calmed, Stanley loped over for some fuss, which Wilkes willingly and enthusiastically gave.

Once everyone had settled down into chairs and gotten their refreshments collected or topped up, he shot a quick glance at Balkhi, who gave him an almost imperceptible nod.

Okay, he said to himself. This is it. No going back.

The silence hung for a few seconds while Wilkes screwed up his courage. Fuck. Just when you thought it couldn’t get any more awkward than falling in love with your Afghan interpreter, it bloody well does.

“Guys, listen up!” he said brightly, immediately snapping everyone’s attention to him. “I’ve got you here under slightly false pretences, I’m afraid. Not that I didn’t want to see you all, of course. I did, and I do. I’ve missed you terribly.” Stop stalling, Wilkes, you pussy! “But, my real reason for getting you here is to tell you my news. You see, uh, Rustam here has come with me this weekend for a reason. I’ve wanted to tell you all this for some time, but haven’t quite found the right moment. But recently I’ve come to realise there’s no point in keeping quiet any longer.” He cleared his throat. “I’m gay, everyone. I’m gay, and Rustam is my boyfriend. We met out in Afghanistan on my last tour. He was my interpreter. At some point, we fell in love and have been together ever since.”

teaser_nativetongue

bioLucy Felthouse is a very busy woman! She writes erotica and erotic romance in a variety of Lucy_Felthouse (2)subgenres and pairings, and has over 100 publications to her name, with many more in the pipeline. These include several editions of Best Bondage Erotica, Best Women’s Erotica 2013 and Best Erotic Romance 2014. Another string to her bow is editing, and she has edited and co-edited a number of anthologies, and also edits for a small publishing house. She owns Erotica For All, is book editor for Cliterati, and is one eighth of The Brit Babes. Find out more at http://www.lucyfelthouse.co.uk. Join her on Facebook and Twitter, and subscribe to her newsletter at: http://eepurl.com/gMQb9

giveaway4

Amazon Gift Certificate

Click on the Rafflecopter link below to enter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Make sure to follow the whole tour—the more posts you visit throughout, the more chances you’ll get to enter the giveaway. The tour dates are here: http://www.writermarketing.co.uk/prpromotion/blog-tours/currently-on-tour/lucy-felthouse-13/

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Shirley Ann Speakman

     /  May 25, 2015

    Congratulations on your new release I’m looking forward to reading the book.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maryann

     /  May 25, 2015

    These books sound great. I have yet to read any m/m or f/f for that matter. I think these will be my first!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Phaedra

     /  May 25, 2015

    Shared hot excerpt

    Like

    Reply
  4. JenCW

     /  May 25, 2015

    Congratulations on the new book! I’m looking forward to reading the next part of Hugh & Rustam’s story.

    Like

    Reply
  5. I know that I am going to enjoy reading this book as much as your other books.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

