Interview and #Giveaway: Katie in Love by @ChloeThurlow1

tourbutton_katieinlove

katieinloveblurbKatie Boyd has nothing in common with Tom Bridge, the volunteer doctor she meets at a party – except in bed she finds a passion to match her own. Tom is intense, puzzling, a man who cares about others and compels Katie to question her own life drifting through the hip clubs and London party scene.

When Tom returns to his post in a Sri Lanka orphanage, Katie isn’t sure if their passion was lit by its brevity, or if love, unexpected and not entirely wanted, has edged its way into her life. Should she go back to being who she always was? Or follow Tom into the unknown?

Katie in Love is a compelling erotic romance that will grip readers as they follow Katie’s journey to an ending they may have expected – but not in the way they expected it.

Brilliantly written and coolly self-aware, Chloe Thurlow was described by KM Dylan on Amazon as “…the Anaïs Nin of our times.” With Katie in Love – her sixth novel – Thurlow reveals a writer at the height of her powers.

BUY LINKS

Link for Amazon downloads – http://bookgoodies.com/a/B00S1SMMIG

Link for Amazon books – http://bookgoodies.com/a/1503014908

Interview

Hi. Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am the girl at the bar at 2.00 in the morning with a notebook aware that this makes me look interesting, for one, and is actually useful for making notes when the muse visits and the bubbles are popping in the cava glass.

I have been doing this, on and off, for the long 13 months it has taken to write Katie in Love. Now the book is finally out, I know how it must feel giving birth to triplets – proud and exhausted.

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

Katie in Love is a romance. I identify with Katie, she has lots of my quirks and passions. She adores her shoes, she doesn’t want to give her old clothes away – and then feels good about herself when Tom helps her make the cull. Once Tom enters her life, Katie starts to think about who she is, what she wants, where she is going. He is the catalyst for change and growth. He can be demanding, but he has a big heart, he’s good for Katie and he’s wonderful between the sheets.

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Katie – lost, dazed and confused

Tom – cautious, loving and wise

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

Katie Boyd has nothing in common with Tom Bridge, the volunteer doctor she meets at a party – except in bed she finds a passion to match her own. Tom is intense, puzzling, a man who cares about others and compels Katie to question her own life drifting through the hip clubs and London party scene.

When Tom returns to his post in a Sri Lanka orphanage, Katie isn’t sure if their passion was lit by its brevity, or if love, unexpected and not entirely wanted, has edged its way into her life. Should she go back to being who she always was? Or follow Tom into the unknown?

In this snippet, Katie is undressing for Tom…

My face must have showed my thoughts; I’m an open book, a blank page.

‘What are you thinking about?’ Tom asked.

I stared back across the room. ‘I’m not telling you,’ I replied, and held the jacket out for him to inspect; it was rather gorgeous – a shade of blue that’s not quite blue and not quite anything else, cerulean, kingfisher, lazuline.

‘Do you like the colour?’ I asked, and he didn’t answer the question.

‘You should wear more green,’ he said instead, and paused, ‘to match your eyes.’

‘Yes, doctor. Would you like me to change my hairstyle as well?’

He smiled. I liked his smile, natural, full-lipped. The low sun edged his face in gold, making it hard to see his expression. I dragged the rollneck over my head and shook out my hair. He leaned forward to watch as if he were at the theatre following a scene on stage. I took a step towards him and pointed down at my boots.

‘Can you?’

He untied the laces. I lifted my feet in turn so he could remove my boots, which he placed beside the chair. Next my socks, stretching them out and placing them on top of the boots with a neatness I approved of. I released the clasp and writhed like a plume of smoke as I lowered my jeans. I sat on the edge of the sofa to pull the material over my feet, and stood again, barefoot on the carpet.

‘You have beautiful feet, they’re your best feature,’ he said.

‘Oh,’ I replied.

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality?

Katie in Love stars Katie and Tom – they sound like two names in a kid’s book, but they fell into my head and immediately felt right. Memorable novels are character-driven and are composites of the writer. If I were to write about a young black boxer, my opposite, I would make him determined, easily offended and quickly forgiving, aspects of myself. You don’t create characters, you give birth to them. You know their age qualities and failings, the relationships they have with parents and friends, their Star Sign, their dreams and ambitions.

We’re cover hussies. What was your first impression of this cover?

I adore the cover. I kissed the cover when the book arrived. It is large size: 9×6, matt finish, silky to the touch like young flesh and I looked at 1000 images before selecting the illustration for Polly Playford to do the design. Katie in Love is my sixth novel, but the first I have self-published and the first time I have been involved in all the exciting bits that come after you’ve actually written the novel.

What does writing mean to you?

It is my passion, my life. I write because I have to and can’t do anything else.

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I want to surprise readers. I write erotic novels, although Katie in Love is more romantic than erotic, but they are about self-discovery, evolution and change. I try to create books with an underlying philosophy and I set them in the present with today’s problems and dilemmas. Writing sex is relatively easy. It’s writing everything else that going on in your characters’ lives that makes the sex vibrant and the story come to life.

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

Eat a freshly-baked croissant in a café beside the Mediterranean, swim, buy something frivolous, drink wine with lunch and make love all afternoon in a room with stripy shadows falling through the shutters.

What are you currently working on?

Apart from marketing Katie in Love, I have started making notes for a new novel about an older woman who falls for a younger man.

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? – backside

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? – on him, boxers

What is on your night stand/dresser? – books, Kleenex, cups, perfume, rubbish

Hairy chests or smooth? – smooth

Cowboy or businessman? – something in-between

Tattoos or piercings?neither particularly

Secret talent? – impersonations (Marilyn, Claire Danes, Maggie Smith)

What’s your guilty pleasure? – cava, same grape as champagne, less fizzy

Celebrity crush? – Ryan Gosling

Night owl or early bird? – night

Twitter or Facebook? – Facebook

Pinterest or Instagram? – Pinterest

ebooks or paperbacks? – paperbacks

Is there anything else you like to add?

Yes. Please buy Katie in Love – it will change your life. It did mine.

divider3chloe thurlow

bioChloe Thurlow’s novel Girl Trade became an Xcite Books best-seller and has been translated into Spanish and Polish. She moved from West London to East London, where the rents are cheaper and the saving means broken streets, a fall, a fractured finger and her new novel, Katie in Love.

Website: http://www.chloethurlow.com/

giveaway4

Use the Rafflecopter to gain entries—and be sure to follow the tour.

The more posts you comment on, the more entries you will get into the drawing:

http://www.writermarketing.co.uk/prpromotion/blog-tours/currently-on-tour/chloe-thurlow/

a Rafflecopter giveaway

WMS_blogtourhostbutton

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Love finding new to me writers. Thanks for the chance, and hosting

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

