Interview and #Giveaway: Love Under Two Outcasts by Cara Covington @GoddessFish

NBTM_TourBanner_LoveUnderTwoOutcasts

Cover_LoveUnderTwoOutcastsblurbCharlotta Carmichael is mostly not ashamed of the way she paid for her college degree. Mostly. As an exotic dancer at a gentlemen’s club, she earned enough to get her degree in psychology.

But sometimes the scorn she’s suffered in the past comes back to haunt her. She fears a similar reaction from Jesse and Barry Benedict. Will they still think she’s good enough for them if she tells them the truth?

Jesse and Barry know all about past mistakes and regret. Feeling like outcasts, they left their Montana home and headed to Lusty, hoping to make a new start. Once they understand that Charlotta is their soul mate, they confess their sins of the past—because they want their relationship to have a solid foundation.

As Jesse and Barry rush to save Charlotta from a stalker, they all soon learn that moving on is easier said than done—and requires a bigger leap of faith than they’d ever imagined.

Buy Links:

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Outcasts-Collection-Publishing-Menage-Everlasting-ebook/dp/B00S5ER0YW/

B&N –  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-under-two-outcasts-the-lusty-texas-collection-cara-covington/1121067556

 

Interview

Welcome to All I Want and More Books. We’re glad to have you here.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m Cara Covington – and I’m also Morgan Ashbury. I have more than 40 titles published with Siren Publishing and I am fortunate enough to be one of their exclusive authors. I write erotic romance, mostly ménage. As Cara, I have authored a long running series, the Lusty Texas Collection. Love Under Two Outcasts was released in December.

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

I really loved my heroine, Charlotta Carmichael. She’s a woman who’s always appeared so self-assured and secure. She decided she wanted to be a psychologist but didn’t want the massive debt that went along with the education. So she chose to dance in a gentlemen’s club in order to earn her tuition. Now, in her first year of practice, she’s happy to be where she is, but…because of the reaction of her father to how she paid for that degree, she struggles with a little bit of self loathing. She also had an engagement that ended when her fiancé couldn’t handle that she’d  been a dancer. So, a woman of strength, but one with vulnerabilities. My kind of heroine.

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Caring, empathetic, and passionate.

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

This is a small snippet (557 words) that takes place on the day that the heroes and heroine meet:

Charlotta felt daring indeed as she entered Lucy’s with the two hot and hunky Montana cowboys. Country music radio was piped through the place, and the after-work crowd had begun to arrive.

As soon as they entered the bar, Jesse took her hand and led her toward the back and one of the circular booths. Once they’d settled she realized they’d put her in the middle between them.

Talk about feeling daring.

She ordered a margarita and the men each asked for a beer.

The waitress was prompt, bringing their drinks and a complimentary platter of chips and salsa. Jesse was just as prompt paying the tab.

“I have to say Shiner is one of the things I like best about Texas so far,” Jesse said. “Well, aside from present company, that is.”

Charlotta’s sense of humor—what others sometimes uncharitably called sarcasm—emerged, and she opened her mouth without thinking. “Wow, there are so many great things about my home state. I’m honored you put me right up there, immediately after the beer.”

Jesse and Barry both chuckled. Then Barry took on as phony a Texas drawl as she’d ever heard. “Well now, Miss Charlotta, in all fairness, we’ve had the Shiner a few times already. You, on the other hand…” He let his sentence drop. But the way he raised his eyebrows twice in quick succession, assured her that he was teasing.

“And it’s going to stay that way today, gentlemen, because I don’t on the first date.”

“Is this a date, Charlotta?” Jesse reached for her right hand, while Barry took up her left. Both men rubbed their thumbs over the backs of her hands, their movements oddly in sync.

Charlotta felt again that fluttering excitement she’d experienced the first time they’d shaken hands.

“I think that maybe it is.”

“That’s what we were hoping you’d say.” Barry brought her hand to his lips and kissed it. Then he released her, but kept his gaze locked with hers.

“Your friend who lives in Divine. Is she…married?”

Charlotte turned to look at Jesse. She kept her voice low when she answered him. “Yes, to two men, Quinten Parks and Ben Lawrence.”

“Our sister Veronica has two husbands, and our brothers share a wife. See? It really is a small world.” Jesse matched his tone to hers, letting her know he respected her boundaries.

“They’re all married…but I don’t know if I’m looking for that. To be honest with you, I don’t know what I’m looking for. I worked long and hard to get where I am, to be able to do the kind of work I’m doing.”

“It takes dedication to become a psychologist, we both know that,” Barry said. “Dedication and a desire to make a difference in the lives of others.”

“Don’t paint me as a saint, gentlemen. I’m far from saintly, believe me.”

“We all have our flaws, and our regrets,” Jesse said. “We just want you to know that we respect that part of you that is a professional career woman.”

“We haven’t been wife hunting any more than you’ve been husband hunting.” The expression in Barry’s eyes, serious bordering on somber, let her know he was being totally candid with her. “But you have to admit there was a definite buzz when we met, and that buzz is getting stronger.”

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? 

For the most part, they just come to me. I might even say, they introduce themselves to me. I generally know if I’ve rushed the process, because before I’ve written too many words I have to stop.

We’re cover hussies..What was your first impression of this cover?

I loved the cover for Love Under Two Outcasts. It was my first cover my the amazingly talented Ms. Harris Channing.

What does writing mean to you?

Being a writer isn’t what I do, it’s who I am. It means breathing. If I can’t write, I’m not fully alive. I knew that years ago, even before I had ever gotten published. If I were still unpublished today, I might not be writing the Lusty, Texas series, but I would be writing.

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

Every story has a theme. In Outcasts, that theme is redemption. But every one of my Lusty Texas books deals with real life challenges. And what I always hope is that, if only in a small way, my book touches the reader.

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

Ack! I probably would read, and then nap, and then read…well, I’d do housework too, but you get the idea. Come to think of it, I really love my bed so I might sleep more than I read.

What are you currently working on?

Currently I am working on Love Under Two Extroverts, which will be the 26th novel in the Lusty, Texas universe.

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man?

His eyes. The first thing I notice on any man. Eyes are sexy as hell.

Boxers, Briefs or Commando?

Boxers. They give a hint, but no more than that.

What is on your night stand/dresser?

I have a shelf rack on the back of the bedroom door because there is no room on my side of the bed for my bedside table. (It’s a running joke between my husband and myself and he finally put a shelf where I could reach things from bed on the back of the door.) Sorry, that wasn’t quick. There I have water, a box of tissues, and my cell phone.

Hairy chests or smooth?

Hairy – it’s more natural.

Cowboy or businessman?

I like a man who can be both.

Tattoos or piercings?

Either/or as long as it isn’t extreme.

Secret talent?

Mine? I have none. What I’d love for a man to have? The talent to cradle and sing an infant to sleep.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Games on my computer. They’re brain exercises – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Celebrity crush?

Luke Bryan!

Night owl or early bird?

I seem to fluctuate. Right now, early bird.

Twitter or Facebook?

Facebook. It allows for more interaction.

Pinterest or Instagram?

Pinterest, which I have, as Morgan Ashbury.

ebooks or paperbacks?

Either/or. There is something good about holding a book in your hands. You can more easily flip back to your favorite passage to read over and over again.

Is there anything else you like to add?

I never could have dreamed this wonderful career I’m having. Here I am, at a point in my life when I had to quit working after triple by-pass surgery, to now be living my one and only dream…it is the best thing, ever! I am so very grateful to all of my loyal readers for making it so.divider3

excerpt

Once she reached her open office door, she stood back inviting the men to enter first. She’d originally planned for them to have their meeting in the more comfortable seating area comprised of a love seat and two chairs around a small table located against one wall. She reconsidered now.

Charlotta freely admitted to herself that the only thing that made her stick to her original plan was her own stubborn pride. It wasn’t Jesse and Barry Benedict’s fault that she seemed to be having an extremely physical reaction to them.

You are such a liar. That’s not the only reason. You want to sit as close to them as possible.

Charlotta hated that her inner voice was such a nag—and that it was almost always right. As the gentlemen made themselves comfortable on the love seat, she mentally sighed. She did want to sit as close to them as decently possible. She had never had this kind of a reaction before. It had been several months since she’d felt any kind of sensual stirrings, period. What was wrong with being open, at least a little, to the possibilities? These men were going to be volunteers in a program she helped oversee, not clients. In short, there was no moral reason she couldn’t…what?

You want to jump their bones.

She told her inner voice to shut the hell up. Who asked you anyway?

divider3

bioMorgan Ashbury, also writing as Cara Covington, has been a writer since she was first able to AuthorPic_Love Under Two Outcastspick up a pen. In the beginning it was a hobby, a way to create a world of her own, and who could resist the allure of that? Then as she grew and matured, life got in the way, as life often does. She got married and had three children, and worked in the field of accounting, for that was the practical thing to do and the children did need to be fed. And all the time she was being practical, she would squirrel herself away on quiet Sunday afternoons, and write.

Most children are raised knowing the Ten Commandments and the Golden Rule. Morgan’s children also learned the Paper Rule: thou shalt not throw out any paper that has thy mother’s words upon it.

Believing in tradition, Morgan ensured that her children’s children learned this rule, too.

Life threw Morgan a curve when, in 2002, she underwent emergency triple bypass surgery. Second chances are to be cherished, and with the encouragement and support of her husband, Morgan decided to use hers to do what she’d always dreamed of doing—writing full time.

Morgan has always loved writing romance. It is the one genre that can incorporate every other genre within its pulsating heart. Romance showcases all that humankind can aspire to be. And, she admits, she’s a sucker for a happy ending.

Morgan’s favorite hobbies are reading, cooking, and traveling—though she would rather you didn’t mention that last one to her husband. She has too much fun teasing him about having become a “Traveling Fool” of late.

Morgan lives in Southwestern Ontario, Canada, with a mysterious cat, an eight pound Morkie dog who thinks he’s a German shepherd, and her husband of forty-two years, David.

 

Website: http://www.morganashbury.com

Morgan’s books at Siren-Bookstrand:

http://www.bookstrand.com/morgan-ashbury

Cara’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cara-Covington/616302148428229

giveaway4

Cara will be awarding a $25 Bookstrand GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour

To enter click on the Rafflecopter link below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better the chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here: 

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/12/nbtm-tour-love-under-two-outcasts-by.html

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Thank you for hosting today

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks for having me here today!

    Like

    Reply
  3. julie

     /  March 13, 2015

    All the best with the New release. Nice snippet

    Like

    Reply
  4. amy bowens

     /  March 13, 2015

    I love this series. Have read ever single book love them.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Ginger Robertson

     /  March 14, 2015

    Hi Cara

    Somewhat late but Hi! I love your stories and discovered them via Heather Rainier.

    Thank you for the many hours of reading that I enjoy.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

