Interview and #Giveaway: C.J. Ellisson – Blood Legacy

BL blog tour button 1

Blood LegacyblurbDespite surviving silver poisoning, Vivian isn’t out of the fire yet. Rolando is still alive, as is his desire to eliminate all manipulator vampires like her. The streets of Buenos Aires prove to be a tricky hunting ground for Vivian and her husband Rafe, especially when a paranormal serial killer starts leaving bodies behind.

Overwhelmed amidst the city’s chaos, they seek help from Jon, Vivian’s werewolf servant and the couple’s right-hand man. As the deaths continue, a local alpha under scrutiny for the crimes threatens to blame Jon and reveal his master’s daytime location—if they don’t find the real culprit.

It’s a race for the trio to stop the killings, uncover the truth, and catch the vampire responsible for Vivian’s torture—before the supernatural locals pick up their proverbial pitchforks and stop them all, for good.

Amazon Buy Link

Interview

Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Thanks for having me on the blog today!

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I live every writer’s dream, I write full-time. I’m married with two kids and three dogs. We live in Virginia and love to go “camping” in our fifth-wheel camper. Buying it was the best idea we ever had – we get to bring the hellhounds with us wherever we go!

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

I loved writing Jon’s character. He had a lot of heavy stuff thrown at him and he had some growing to do. It was a good story for him to feel comfortable with where he’s going and why.

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Intense, passionate, and deadly.

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

This story takes place in Buenos Aires, and while I have yet to visit there myself, I can vouch by the numerous books and videos I’ve watched that it looks like an incredible place to live. In this installment we have three people desperate to protect all they hold dear, and yet they are drawn into finding a killer despite their best intentions. I introduce many more aspects to the previous world and new species, too.  Magic, mayhem, and madness, all for your reading pleasure. (I’ve included the entire first chapter for you to share, if you’d like).

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? 

I like to use real names. I’m not a big fan of the names I can’t pronounce when I read, but that’s just me. I use facebook for most all of the names in my books. I’ll do a shout out on my author Page or in my street team for name suggestions. When one is picked I will thank the person in the contributor’s section of the published book. It’s one of my favorite ways to get readers involved in the creative process.

We’re cover hussies. What was your first impression of this cover?

I was in awe. I loved the dress and the background images, especially the city in the water. Atlantis comes into play in this book, and I felt the cover artist did a phenomenal job in capturing the feel I was looking for.

What does writing mean to you?

Interesting question! To me, it means sharing my stories with the world. If I wasn’t writing, I’d still tell stories, I just wouldn’t write them down. And that would be a shame.

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I hope they enjoyed the escape immersing yourself in a good story can provide. My books may not have a deep underlying message to them, but you do feel like you know the characters and have journeyed with them while you’re reading the pages.

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

I have them often! We travel to places all the time with no Internet when we vacation. I relax, read a book, cook with my family, play card, dice, and board games with them, and love to go hiking with my husband and dogs.

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on plotting out my next books, proposals for series to send to my agent, and reminding myself to exercise everyday, whether I want to or not.

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? Eyes

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? I love those boxer-brief combos. Tight and yet modest at the same time. 😉

What is on your night stand/dresser? Three battery operated candles, a bottle of water, an alarm clock, lamp, and whatever book I’m reading at the time (usually that means my kindle).

Hairy chests or smooth? I like both! Smooth is pretty, but I don’t want a boy in my bed. Hair is nice as long as they aren’t covered, like on their back. I really don’t care for hairy backs.

Cowboy or businessman? Same thing, I like both. Good-looking men in all shapes and sizes. Yum. I don’t discriminate. 😉

Tattoos or piercings? Ink is sexier. Piercings make me want to grab it and tear. I can be a bitch.

Secret talent? Secret? Geez… I dunno. I’m pretty open online and can’t think of anything that’s a talent and a secret. Except for the bedroom stuff, and I promised not to talk about that. 😉

What’s your guilty pleasure?  Guilt is a wasted emotion! I love so many things and indulge often. Life is too short for anything else. I enjoy good dark chocolate, like Godiva, but won’t turn my nose up to Hershey’s Special Dark, either.

Celebrity crush? My husband calls her my girlfriend, Sophia Vergara. I’ve never hinted I want to be with a woman, but I think she’s stunning and I want to be her. Now that she’s engaged to Joe Manganiello I get to stare at both of them.

Night owl or early bird? Night owl.

Twitter or Facebook? Facebook, baby!

Pinterest or Instagram? Neither.

ebooks or paperbacks? eBooks!

 

Is there anything else you like to add?

Thanks for having me! I’m hosting a book reviewer’s giveaway. Here is the link: https://www.facebook.com/C.J.EllissonFanPage/app_228910107186452

As C.J. mentioned above she is also hosting a giveaway on her Facebook page for anyone who posts a review of Blood Legacy during the first two weeks of its release (February 25 to March 11) 

There is also another Giveaway below

divider3

excerptMy voice deepens, taking on a husky tone. “It’s not like I want him the way I want you. He’s not the one I dream of every time I close my eyes. It’s not his love, his very essence of life, that brought me back from the edge of insanity and darkness,” I say, referring to the moment I nearly died and Rafe’s devotion and love saved me.

“Okay, you’ve made your point. I’ll play nice with the werewolf. Any hint or rumor he may have found a mate during last month’s big game hunting fiasco with all the werewolves?”

I shrug, realize he can’t see my movement, and say, “I’m not sure.”

“What? How can that be? How could you not be sure of what your vampire servant is doing at any given time?”

“You know I gave him distance when we left—and I don’t mean physically, I mean with our mental connection. He’s still there, in the back of my mind. But I’ve given him privacy, not wanting to intrude when he has the chance to be free of my influence for once.”

“Is that the best course of action when you claim to ‘need him’ now?”

“I’ll allow the connection to strengthen when he journeys here, but I want to keep some mental distance in place for him. He needs it. His uncontrollable obsessive desires were overcoming his waking thoughts, he needed the break to heal and find himself again.”

“All right, enough about the poor lost puppy. When did you say he’ll arrive?”

“Tuesday night. We’ll meet him at the airport in the city. How is the house hunting coming along?”

I hear the happiness in his voice. “I’ve found several suitable accommodations,” he says. “You’ll like them, I’m sure.”

A rush of images floods my mind. Stately residences in the posh neighborhoods near the heart of the city, rooms with high ceilings and ornate moldings, and hearths with big roaring fires.

“Good. I miss you, my darling. It’s only been two weeks and I still think it’s too long.”

“You’re just hungry for my blood, aren’t you?”

“Among other things…”

A gentle tingle of sensation indicates my husband’s mind reaching out to mine. And I miss you too, liebling. We’ll be together soon. Not to worry.

divider3

bioC.J. Ellisson is the USA Today Bestselling author of the New York Times Bestselling book, Vanilla on Top, the bestselling V V Inn series, and several erotica shorts. She lives in northern Virginia me 9-14with her husband, two children, three dogs, and a fluffy black cat who makes her sneeze.

Unlike most full-time authors, she’s also battling severe chronic illness. C.J. works daily to put her Lupus into remission and continues to fight numerous bacterial infections while her immune system slowly attacks her body. She turned to writing when she could no longer work outside the home and claims the escape of penning contemporary fantasy, erotica, and erotic romance has helped save her sanity.

Join C.J. Ellisson’s Monthly Newsletter to Receive Notice of:

~ Contests

~ Free Reads & Sneak Peeks

~ Book Signing & Appearances

~ Online Reader Events

~ Upcoming Sales

~ New Releases

To sign up, copy and paste this site address into your browser’s address bar: bit.ly/cj-news

MORE places to connect with C.J.:

Website: cjellisson.com

Facebook: facebook.com/C.J.EllissonFanPage

Online Book Club: facebook.com/groups/urbanfantasybc

Street Team: facebook.com/groups/cjeseethe

giveaway4

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BL blog tour button 2

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Brandi Defries Swendt

     /  March 4, 2015

    Thanks for the chance. What a great giveaway

    Like

    Reply
  2. Loved the interview.. Cool giveaway ! Thank you for the chance.. I love C.J.’s books,the V V Inn series is my favorite 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Sandy S.

     /  March 4, 2015

    Great interview. Congrats CJ on the new release.

    Like

    Reply
  4. jamie

     /  March 4, 2015

    OMG loved loved loved the book. I can’t wait till the next is out great job

    Like

    Reply
  5. Michelle Chauvin-Archut

     /  March 4, 2015

    enjoyed your interview. Congratulations on the release of your book. I read it and loved it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Loved the interview!! This book sounds so entertaining.

    Like

    Reply
  7. suzlyne

     /  March 5, 2015

    I love that you use real names and not names that can’t be pronounced. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Katrina

     /  March 5, 2015

    Loved the interview!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Lisa Errion

     /  March 5, 2015

    Great interview C.J. Blood Legacy was such an exciting read and excellent addition to the VV Inn Series!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

