#Interview and #Giveaway: Lane Hayes – The Wrong Man ~ @LaneHayes3 @PridePromo

TWMBanner300x250

SMThe_Wrong_Man_FinalblurbSuccessful owner of an upscale boutique in fabulous West Hollywood, Brandon Good swears by his personal edict to “live in the present.” After a bad break-up, he agrees to dog sit to keep his mind off his ex. Never did he expect the dog to belong a man from his past, the only man to ever truly break his heart.

When Jake Westley relocates to join the WeHo fire department, the last thing he anticipates is reuniting with his secret high school love. Thrilled with the prospect of reconnecting with Bran, Jake feels no guilt in using his charming old dog as an unwitting matchmaker. As they rekindle their friendship, it becomes clear the intense attraction they once felt is stronger than ever. But as hard as they try to leave the past behind, painful memories resurface. Bran will have to confront his fears and consider the possibility that the man he swore was absolutely the wrong one might be perfect after all.

Buy Links:

eBook: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6000

Paperback: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6001

Interview

Hi Lane. Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Thank you so much for inviting me!

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a hopeless romantic and a bibliophile. I love any and all love stories. It is truly a huge honor to be writing MM romance novels. I have a gay son and was inspired by the lack of authors in the genre when I first started to give my passion a try. I love the message of hope in a well-written romance.

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

Brandon was a joy and a pleasure to write. He spoke so easily to me. He’s fun, gregarious and extraordinarily strong. He knows who he is and takes no BS. If anything, I wish I were more like him!

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Brandon- confident, fighter, fabulous

Jake- kind, smart, compassionate

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

The Wrong Man is a story about confronting your fears and accepting that preconceived notions might be the very thing that holds us back from finding true happiness.

Tiny snippet from The Wrong Man coming right up:

He was on fire. There was a reckless, wild-eyed look about him as though his control worn thin. He bent to lick my lips again and again in a teasing manner until I went wild. I yanked him by the hair sucking on his tongue and raking my fingers down his back as I fought to get closer still. There was no way to get the friction we craved in the confines of the truck. Jake traced the shell of my ear with the tip of his tongue.

“Invite me inside, Bran,” he growled. His eyes were full of heat and desire. I couldn’t remember a man ever looking at me quite so passionately before. It was intoxicating.

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality?

I like strong, masculine names. Honestly, there’s no science to it. The name has to fit the character, but I don’t belabor the point. Maybe it will become more of an issue for me as my backlog grows. Lol!

We’re cover hussies..What was your first impression of this cover?

OMG! I LOVE this cover!! Aaron Anderson is a genius. The colors and proportion with the perfect amount of sex appeal. He truly outdid himself this time!

What does writing mean to you?

Writing means freedom. Freedom to create and express yourself through fictional characters with real life problems and personality quirks. Writing is also the best form of therapy! It helps me process conflict and make sense of things I can’t always control in real life. The written word is a powerful tool. I’m grateful to spend time doing something I love.

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

My favorite stories leave me with a huge smile on my face and the voracious craving to read more of that author. I love beautifully written, somewhat flawed characters who I find relatable on some level. I want to root for them and cheer them on when they finally realize they have found someone extraordinary to spend their lives with. I hope my readers feel that way about my books. And I’ll add if I really love a book, I will literally order an authors entire backlog in one sitting. Lol! Again, I hope to inspire the same!

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

Too easy! Read. All day. Preferably at the beach.

What are you currently working on?

My current WIP is book #4 in the Better Than Stories. By the time you read this, it will be with Dreamspinner Press! *fingers crossed*

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? Smile

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? Commando but if he has to wear something, boxer briefs

What is on your night stand/dresser? My kindle and a reading light 🙂

Hairy chests or smooth? In between. I donÕt like too much hair, but a little is sexy!

Cowboy or businessman? Businessman

Tattoos or piercings? Tattoos

Secret talent? Kickass Scrabble player lol

What’s your guilty pleasure? Chocolate!

Celebrity crush? Joe Manganiello

Night owl or early bird? Early bird

Twitter or Facebook? Twitter

Pinterest or Instagram? Neither

ebooks or paperbacks? Ebooks!

Is there anything else you like to add?

People have been asking, so yes I will confirm there is a Book 3 in the Right and Wrong Series and of course, it belongs to Alex. He deserves his own story! 🙂

divider3

excerptAgain, I questioned my sanity. Something was odd in my world for sure. My heart was beating double time when he finally turned onto my street. A quick escape was my best bet. I had my fingers wrapped around the car door handle and was ready to rip my

other hand from his grasp when he slowed down. He must have sensed my intent to bolt, because he held on to me until I was forced to give him a “what the fuck?” look.

“Let me walk you to your door.”

“Jake, let’s not do this. Please. I really don’t want this evening to get any weirder than it already has been. Thank you for tonight. For dinner and pretending to—”

“Hey, nothing is weird here. It’s dark, and I’m walking you to your door—”

“I’m a big boy. I’ve got this.” I detached my hand from his grip and opened the door.

“Thanks again.”

When I reached the sidewalk, he was waiting for me. The man obviously was hard of hearing.

“You are stubborn.” I gave him my best evil eye before I trudged up the path ahead of him.

“Me? You’re the difficult one. I’m trying to be nice—”

“You don’t have to prove you’re nice to me. I get it. That doesn’t mean—suit yourself.”

“Humor me.”

I fished my key from my pocket as I approached the well-lit front porch.

“Here I am, safe and sound. No need for worry,” I said flippantly as I turned to Jake.

“You ca—”

I swallowed my words. He was closer than I expected. Much closer. I felt the warmth from his body but wasn’t prepared for the hunger I saw in his eyes. I licked my bottom lip nervously. I knew what was going to happen, and though I wasn’t sure it was a good idea, I wasn’t going to stop him. He bent slightly and brushed his nose against mine. I felt his breath on my lips as I waited for him to close the distance between us. Neither of us moved. He smelled delicious, that intoxicating combination of soap and a hint of musky cologne I’d noticed the morning he hugged me in my kitchen. I could have happily buried my nose in his shirt or in the curve where his neck met his shoulders. I closed my eyes and leaned in the tiniest bit closer, expecting him to take over. He still didn’t move.

“Aren’t you going to ki—”

And then he pounced. He crashed his mouth over mine and snaked his arms around my waist, fusing our bodies together. His hands traveled up and down my back while he licked a sensual line across the seam of my lips, requesting entry. I heard myself moan as his tongue danced and collided with mine in a lustful assault. I arched into him instinctively. Jake lowered his hands to my ass, drawing me in tightly as he thrust his hips forward. The friction was hot, and his demanding kisses had my head reeling. This was nothing like our frantic make-out sessions years ago.

Just as that errant thought surfaced to remind me whom I was grinding against like a teenager on my front porch, Jake turned his full attention to my mouth. I was painfully hard, but he was right. We shouldn’t be doing any of this. But I couldn’t seem to stop myself. I bit at his jaw and then licked my way to his ear, flicking the lobe gently with my tongue until I felt his teeth at my neck. I made a strangled sound and went limp in his arms. He was overpowering in a subtle, almost unexpected way. I was two seconds away from ripping his shirt when a car went down my street blaring hip-hop music at an obscene volume. I pulled away and rested my forehead against his shoulder. We stood quietly catching our breath for a moment.

Then Jake pressed a soft kiss on my cheek and stepped away. “Good night, Bran. Thank you for… well, just thank you. I’ll see you soon.”

I stared after him like an idiot, watching him open his door and start the SUV. I heard the familiar hum of distant traffic and smelled the fragrant sweet star jasmine from my neighbor’s garden. Everything looked and seemed to be in place, but something was different.

divider3

Author Bio: Lane Hayes is grateful to finally be doing what she loves best. Writing full time! It’s no secret Lane loves a good romance novel. An avid reader from an early age, she has always been drawn to a well-told love story with beautifully written characters. These days she prefers the leading roles both be men! Lane discovered the M/M genre a fews ago and was instantly hooked. Her first novel was a finalist in the 2013 Rainbow Awards and her third received an Honorable Mention in the 2014 Rainbow Awards. She loves travel, chocolate, and wine (in no particular order). Lane lives in Southern California with her amazing husband and the coolest yellow lab ever in an almost empty nest.

Where you can find Lane:

Website: https://lanehayes.wordpress.com/

Facebook: LaneHayesauthor

Twitter: @LaneHayes3

E-mail: mailto:lanehayes@ymail.com

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Cover Artist: Aaron Anderson

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7125719.Lane_Hayes

Pages or Words: 220 Pages

giveaway4

$10 Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

divider3

Tour Dates: Mondays & Wednesdays February 9 – March 4

Tour Stops:

9-Feb

The Novel Approach

MM Good Book Reviews

My Fiction Nook

 

11-Feb

Cate Ashwood

Because Two Men Are Better Than One

Sinfully Sexy

 

16-Feb

Christy Loves 2 Read

Bayou Book Junkie

Amanda C. Stone

 

18-Feb

Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words

Prism Book Alliance

 

23-Feb

Hearts on Fire

Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews

Jade Crystal

BFD Book Blog

 

25-Feb

Smoocher’s Voice

All I Want and More Books

Inked Rainbow Reads

 

2-Mar

3 Chicks After Dark

Rainbow Gold Reviews

Multitasking Mommas

Love Bytes

 

4-Mar

Molly Lolly

Joyfully Jay

Butterfly-O-Meter

Wake Up Your Wild Side

Velvet Panic

As The Pages Turn

Dawn’s Reading Nook

WillPride

 

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Brandi Defries Swendt

     /  February 25, 2015

    I am a dog person. My favorite breeds are Bassett Hound and Sharpei

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m actually a fur-person person…I like dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs and other furry creatures! Fun interview and great excerpt, thanks for sharing and good luck with the tour!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

