Release Day #Interview: @Ashlynn_Pearce – Fuel (DirtSlap #1)

 

Interview

Happy Release Day Ashlynn!!

Welcome to All I Want and More Books. We’re glad to have you here.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

Image5Once upon a time…You ain’t gonna believe this shit!

(I always wanted to start a bio like that!) But seriously—scrap that, I’m not serious, but I do love to write. Create characters. Give them hope that there is something better around the corner. It’s my passion. I live and breathe stories. When I’m not arguing with the characters in my head (yes, I do that, you can ask my hubby who thinks I’m nuts btw), I’m taking care of said hubby, my two kids and a melee of furbabies. I’m Okie born and bred and, yes, we get a lot of twisters and, no, there aren’t any teepees around that I’ve seen.

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

In FUEL, it would have to be the heroine, Cassie. She is wild, crazy and doesn’t give a flip about what people think. She’s all about being in the moment. Living life to the fullest and grabbing hold with both hands. She missed a lot in life and she doesn’t intend to miss another moment.

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Cassie — feisty, carefree, spontaneous

Thrand — content, focused, loyal (the first two before Cassie slammed back into his life…after? You’ll have to read it to find out)

Can you tell us a little bit about this book?

FUEL

‘DirtSlap Series’

“Is there any line she won’t cross?”

Cassie Dalton escapes her narrow-minded hometown and will do whatever it takes to make a life for herself—on her own terms. Getting stranded in Nashville on her twenty-first birthday is fine…running into the one man she never thought she’d see again is mind-blowing. She doesn’t want, or need, a hero, but he opens her heart to feelings she’d stopped believing in. She’s always loved him, but is he worth risking her heart?

Thrand Medlam is content with his life as a studio drummer, until Cassie slams into his world at full throttle. Grown up and running wide ass open, she sparks the fire he never knew he’d lost. The girl from his past digs up all the regret and remorse he’d buried when he left. Torn between the guilt of long ago and the vibrant girl in front of him, he must make a choice. Honor a promise he made to his best friend, Cassie’s dead brother, or love her.

In the midst of their chaos, a band, with a little bit of country, a dash of metal and a whole lot of dirt, is born…DirtSlap

Maybe a little snippet?

Image4Excerpt:

Over halfway through the set, Thrand thought his head might explode. Cassie had danced with every guy in the place, and it seemed she had finally settled on one—some blond cowboy who wouldn’t keep his hands to himself. On the verge of violence, Thrand kept breaking his sticks.

Her hair curled down her back and her hips swayed to the beat of the music. His beat. She held a beer high above her head, danced, and completely ignored him. How could she do that when she was dancing to his beat?

The song they played wasn’t even over when he stood up behind his set, making the rest of the band stop and turn in surprise. He banged his sticks together three times and the noise in the bar quieted a bit.

Cassie turned to look at him, he pointed at her with one stick, then banged them together three more times. Her smile reached him from across the room. She hopped off the cowboys lap and took a few steps toward him through the crowd.

Then he started playing her favorite song. Hard rock all the way. Not suited for Honky Tonk Row at all. He didn’t give two shits what he was supposed to be playing. Bedlam was lose and there was only one thing he wanted.

Her attention.

The guys in the band said something to him. He didn’t listen. They didn’t know the tune. But Cas did. She’d climbed on a chair, rocked it out, and her hair flew wild as she sang at the top of her lungs. The entire bar watched her and she didn’t care. Just kept right on doing her thing. Being everything that drew him in.

But the best part? She kept shoving handsy cowboy away.

Ryan caught on and joined in with some guitar riffs that made Cassie squeal with joy. Thrand didn’t know why she loved the song so much, but now, she was dancing to his beat and his beat alone.

Adding fuel to his fire.

He’d gotten exactly what he wanted…her focus on him.

People poured into the bar from the streets, filling it to capacity as he played wildly and dumped all his feeling into the song. The crowd jammed with her, Lila included, but he ignored them. Cassie pumped her fist in the air as part of the crowd joined in with the chorus. Her face was flushed, her green eyes flashing bright as they bored into him.

Sweat slid down his spine and the fire she created roared out of control. From the day he found her in Nashville, he knew she was going to be trouble.

She wanted him?

Let’s see if she could really handle him.

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? 

It’s a process…let me tell you. Names are the meat and butter. If it doesn’t fit, it just doesn’t work. Not only can I take forever to find the right name, I also have to find a pic to work as muse. Those two things are vital for me. Which is why you will almost always find faces cut off on my covers. J That and I want the reader to see them how they see them.

We’re cover hussies…What was your first impression of this cover?

Image1HOT. I loved it. Totally loved it. It so depicts their personalities. Luckily, I hired a terrific cover artist and she nailed it almost perfect at the first go.

What does writing mean to you?

Here is where I’m gonna get mushy. Five years ago (almost) I published my first book…and had a stroke the day it released. To this day, they have no idea why and I have a whole host of issues, which also can’t be explained. I’d tried so many times to write again. I couldn’t. About May of last year, I decided to give it one more shot. BAM! It worked! Tears of joy with each day I could write. It means the world to me. Writing. Creating. I love it so much. I still deal with all those said issues day-in, day-out…but I can write again. Something I truly thought was out of my reach.

And when I held FUEL in my hands…I have no words.

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

Hope. That no matter how bad it gets, there is always hope that something better is waiting around the corner. My motto…Were it not for Hope, the Heart would Break.

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

Read a paperback. J

What are you currently working on?

WRECK is book #2 in the DirtSlap series and its in editing phase and releases in May. KRUSH will be out in a summer anthology and FIXT & WIRED is in plotting phase. All part of the DirtSlap series and all stand-alones. No cliff-hangers here, but they do tie together.

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? That’s a tough one…back or eyes

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? Boxer Briefs

What is on your night stand/dresser? My iPad usually. Cause books, ya know.

Hairy chests or smooth? I like inbetween… a lil hair lets me know hes a real man. 😉

Cowboy or businessman? Cowboy…all the way. Suit and tie does nothing for me.

Tattoos or piercings? Both! HOTTT – wait until WRECK. 😉

Secret talent? I am a psycho who not only hears voices, I answer them! (although I’m not real sure that’s a secret)

What’s your guilty pleasure? Ben and Jerrys Chunky Monkey

Celebrity crush? At the moment, Brantley Gilbert, my muse for Thrand J M. Shadows is close second

Night owl or early bird? Early…if its gonna get done, then it gotta be early

Twitter or Facebook? FB but I do like twitter

Pinterest or Instagram? Pinterest!! Another guilty pleasure

ebooks or paperbacks? eBooks…unless they are my fave authors. Then I like paper

 

Is there anything else you like to add?

You can follow me around and see what I’m up to here —

www.AshlynnPearce.com

FB:  https://www.facebook.com/ashlynnpearcewriter

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Ashlynn_Pearce

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3512149.Ashlynn_Pearce

 

Book links:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/FUEL-DirtSlap-Book-Ashlynn-Pearce-ebook/dp/B00QYAPUDC/ref=asap_B008F9J94G?ie=UTF8

KOBO: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/fuel-6

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id951159485

Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fuel-ashlynn-pearce/1120913527?ean=2940151682206

Image2 Image3

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for having me! 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

