#Interview with author Nancy Fraser – The Muse @nfraserauthor @GoddessFish

interview2

Welcome Nancy to All I Want and More Books

Cover_The MuseTell us a little bit about The Muse?

The Muse is my first foray into erotic romance. I’ve always written steamy love scenes but I felt my creativity needed a jolt, so I decided to try pushing the envelope a bit. I set the book in one of my favorite time periods … the Roaring Twenties. It was such a decadent, yet romantic, time. Yet there are very few romances set in that era.

My heroine is a young, socialite from a good family who’s tired of being the perfect daughter. She wants something more … she’s just not sure what. The hero is a young man she’d met the year before when she hit him with her friend’s Model A. They’re from two different worlds, but that’s what makes the attraction interesting.

 

How much emotion does it take from you to write?

Prior to this year, I would have said “not that much”. I get an idea, I sit down and I write. I’ve published 16 books (both full length and novella) and have two more coming out before the end of the year. One of my historical series was co-written with a good friend. We were in the middle of a proposed five-book contract for a post-Civil war family saga when Patti’s cancer came back. I lost her in May of this year and, quite honestly, writing has been a very emotional struggle since then. My plan is to finish our joint series. Fortunately, The Muse, was a delightful escape and helped to get my creative motor running once again.

 

What is your favorite part of the book?

It would be a toss-up between my heroine’s realization that she doesn’t need a man to be her best and my hero’s realization that he really needs and wants the heroine. That moment when the person responsible for the “black moment” actually comes to their senses is my favorite in every book I write (and most of those I read as well).

 

You can only pick 3 words to describe your main characters..what would they be?

To die for!

 

Which was the easiest character to write and the hardest ~ and why?

Holly Winters, my secondary female was definitely the easiest. She has no inhibitions. She wants what she wants and does what she has to do to get it. The most difficult would have been my heroine, a young innocent at the beginning. Relating to her was a bit more challenging because I haven’t been young in ages! Plus, she’s pushing her boundaries and I wanted her to do that but still honor the values she was raised with.

 

How many books are you shooting for in this series?

The Muse is a stand-alone. I will be doing more in the time period, but they will not be linked in any other way.

 

What are you currently working on?

I actually have two projects in the works. I just signed a new contract with Decadent for another 1920’s book titled, The Mysterious Mrs. Pennybaker. I’m in the first round of edits with that. I’m also working on a retelling of a Grimm Fairytale for their Beyond Fairytales line.

Once that’s complete, I’ll be going back to my family saga series and completing book 3 in the series.

 

Do you have anything due to release soon?

The Muse came out on the 10th. I have a contemporary romance/secret baby book with a twist coming out on October 22 from Soul Mate Publishing. Titled Home is Where the Hunk is, it’s based on a true story. And then on December 17th the fifth novella in my Golden Decade of Rock and Roll series will release. April Love is based on the 1959 hit song by Pat Boone. The Wild Rose Press is my publisher.

 

What’s one thing that you enjoy about writing?

The freedom of expression. I love storytelling, especially when part of the story is based on actual events or stories from my grandparents. A good portion of my next 1920’s novella is based on actual events from my grandmother’s life.

 

Since we’re cover hussies….what was your first impression of your cover?

I fell in love with my cover the moment I saw it. I love the sepia finish and the small splash of color on the two women’s lips. The cover artist captured the feel of the book perfectly.

 

What do you prefer ebooks or paperbacks?

It depends. I’m a big supporter of RWA’s literacy signing, so I pick up print books by my favorite authors. I do have a fully-stocked e-reader as well and download as many as my budget can afford.

 

Is there a genre you would like to write but are a little apprehensive to try?

I’d like to do another futuristic time travel. I published one six years ago and, to this day, is one of my best sellers. I also enjoy reading paranormal, but don’t think I’d be good at writing one. I can’t disconnect from reality in the way you would need to in order to produce an entertaining book.

 

Okay…. personal time!!!! Oh yeah, I go there… Hahah…

What is on your night stand/dresser? A Wizard of Oz music box my two oldest granddaughters gave me for Christmas and a box of Pampers Baby Dry diapers for my littlest grandbaby. Now … if you’d asked me what was in the nightstand drawer … you might have gotten an entirely different answer.

What are you listening to you right now? The click of my keyboard and the rain outside my office window.

What are you reading right now? I’m reading my final galley on the December book and another research book on sexual expressions from the 1930s and 40s.

What is your favorite season? Holiday? My favorite season is summer … the hotter the better. My favorite holiday is Christmas because of the family aspect. I just wish they’d celebrate it in July or August.

And what has been your best b-day present ever? A puppy when I was ten. Followed closely by my last birthday when I gifted myself with retirement from the outside working world.

Quickie time… Think fast….

 Are you a quickie kind girl? Nope, slow and easy. Everything is better if it lasts longer.

Dark or Milk Chocolate? A bit of both, either individually or together.

Whipped or Melted? Whipped … it can melt in your mouth.

Straight up or with a twist – sex? Again, a bit of both depending on the partner.

What’s ur fave drink – in a glass or on him? Bailey’s over ice. In a glass … wouldn’t want to waste good booze.

Spank or Flogger? I’m more of a gentle touch kind of girl.

Junk or Health Food? A happy medium … although I’ve been known to indulge in a Big Mac or two when on a deadline.

Ties or Chains? Ties. Chains make too much noise.

Leather or Lace? Lace … it’s stronger than you think.

Soft or Hard… Bed, where was your mind? My mind? It’s in the bed, of course. Hard is the way to go.

Control or Be Controlled? Control

Hot Wax or Whip Cream? Whip Cream

Vampire or Werewolf? Vampire (I don’t like hairy men).

Twitter and/or Facebook? Facebook … lots more room to talk.

Pinterest or not? I look at it, but don’t subscribe.

VBT_TheMuse_Banner

blurbPrivileged Hyde Park socialite, Susan Leland, wants more from life than being a rich man’s daughter. She wants excitement, daring, but most of all, she wants to explore her sexuality. A chance meeting with artist Evan Forrester, a man she’d met purely by ‘accident’ months earlier, leads Susan on a journey of sensual discovery that not only includes the handsome Evan, but also sultry torch singer, Holly Winters. Together, the singer and the artist uncover Susan’s utmost desires and unleash her inner vamp.

Buy Links: Now on Sale for .99¢

divider3

excerptSusan tapped lightly on the solid oak door leading to Evan Forrester’s downtown loft. The building was old, in parts dilapidated and smelling of mold. The three-story climb to his studio had been precarious, with more broken stairs than good ones. The urge to turn and flee ran rampant through her thoughts. She still couldn’t believe she was actually taking him up on his suggestion.

She hesitated. She hadn’t pictured him being destitute, a starving artist unable to afford something better than this run-down building. As hard as she tried to ignore her inner voice, she couldn’t hide her concern for the safety of her situation. Eager to be out of the dark, damp hallway, she knuckled the door a bit harder, stopping just short of actually using her balled-up fist to pound the old wood.

From behind the barrier, she could hear the shuffle of footsteps, and held her breath in anticipation. When the door opened, she let her breath out on a sigh of relief.

“You’re here,” Evan said, his gaze flaring as if she’d caught him by surprise.

“You said one o’clock,” Susan reminded him. She made a rather deliberate show of staring at her bare wrist. “It’s five minutes of, according to my watch.”

He stepped back and allowed her inside. Unlike the dark entryway and corridors leading to the third floor, his loft was filled with color, vivid splashes of paint adorning walls full of original artwork. Windows rose from floor to ceiling, allowing the early afternoon sun to shine through, unimpeded by draperies of any kind. Sparsely furnished with nothing more than a few chairs and a small kitchen table. Susan wondered what lay behind each of the three doors along the back wall.

“Truthfully, I didn’t think you’d show.” He waved his hand in a circle, the arc encompassing the entire open living area. “I don’t get many Hyde Park society girls in my studio.”

She raised her chin a notch. “Whether you realize it or not, I’m not like most Hyde Park girls.” When he didn’t comment, she reminded him, “You said I could make up for the accident by posing for you. I’m here to make amends for—as you put it—the pain and suffering my recklessness caused.”

He chuckled, the teasing lilt of his voice drawing her attention to where he stood. It was then she realized he was dressed in little more than a pair of tight- fitting denim rousers and an unbuttoned shirt. A sparse patch of short curls adorned his well-muscled chest, trailing downward to disappear inside the waistband of his pants. His feet were bare and his dark hair tousled, as if she’d awoken him from a sound sleep. His second laugh, this one much heartier than the first, told her she’d been caught staring. A sudden wave of heat rushed her cheeks. Her pulse raced.

“As I said last night, I don’t do formal portraits.”

His words drew her gaze back to his face, his mouth, the fullness of his lips. She raised her head and nodded. “Let’s just get this over with, please.”

He crooked his finger and motioned for her to follow. “Bathroom’s through there, if you need the facilities.” He opened the door to the middle room. “This is my bedroom. You can change in here, if you’d like. There’s a dressing gown hanging on the back of the door.”

“Change into what?” she asked. Her throat suddenly as dry as a pile of cotton batting, she slipped out of her lightweight coat and cloche and laid them at the foot of the bed.

Evan shook his head; his eyebrows arched and wagged teasingly. “Into as very little as you’re comfortable with, Miss Leland. I prefer totally nude, but if you’d like to leave your fancy drawers on, I can use my imagination.” He motioned toward the wooden table in the corner of the room. “There are some props, jewelry and the sort, over there, if you’d like to doll yourself up.”

“Anything else?” She did her best to put a sarcastic bent to her question yet feared her voice trembled too much to make the right impression.

He lowered his gaze from her face, across her body, down her legs, settling at last on her ankles. The intensity of his perusal made her toes curl.

“Take off those shoes and put on a pair with ankle straps. Preferably black. There should be a pair in the closet that will fit you.” He turned toward the door, stopping to add, “My studio is in the next room over. I’ll prepare a fresh canvas. Don’t take forever. I have someone coming at three.”

 

divider3

bioLike most authors, Nancy Fraser began writing at an early age, usually on the walls and with crayons or, heaven forbid, NancyFraserpermanent markers. Her love of writing often made her the English teacher’s pet, which, of course, resulted in a whole lot of teasing. Still, it was worth it.

When not writing (which is almost never), Nancy dotes on her five beautiful grandchildren and looks forward to traveling and reading when time permits. Nancy lives in Atlantic Canada where she enjoys the relaxed pace and colorful people.

 Links:

Website: http://www.nancyfraser.ca

Blog: http://nancyfraser.ca/wordpress/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/nfraserauthor @nfraserauthor

Facebook: http://facebook.com/nancyfraserauthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7206382.Nancy_Fraser

giveaway4

Nancy will be awarding a $15 GC to winner’s choice of an online book retailer to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and another randomly drawn winner will be awarded a Reader’s Coffee Mug (US/Canada – $5 GC for international winners). 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

To follow the tour, click on the button below

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Mary Preston

     /  October 29, 2014

    A fun interview, especially the quickies.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks for hosting!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nancy Fraser

     /  October 29, 2014

    Thank you so much for hosting my tour today. I look forward to coming back a bit later to respond to comments/questions.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Your reason for vampires made me laugh, i totally agree

    Like

    Reply
  5. bn100

     /  October 29, 2014

    Nice interview

    Like

    Reply
  6. Nancy Fraser

     /  October 30, 2014

    Thanks again for hosting this leg of my tour and thanks everyone for your comments. Good luck in the draw.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Rita Wray

     /  October 30, 2014

    I enjoyed the interview.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

