#Interview: N.R. Walker – Red Dirt Heart 3 #BlogTour @pridepromo

 

interview2

Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m female, 38 years old, Australian, married with two kids.  I am lucky enough to be able to write full time.

 

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

In RDH3, I’d have to say my favourite addition to Sutton Station would be Nugget. He’s a one year-old wombat, who is such a character. The story has quite a few angsty moments and little Nugget was such a welcome comedic relief. He runs around the house, more like a puppy than a wombat and totally steals Charlie’s heart.

Nugget

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Charlie is stubborn, guarded and learning. Travis is patient, patient, patient.

 

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

Book 1 was about Charlie finally allowing someone into his life, allowing them to share the burden he’s carried for years.

Book 2 was about Charlie fighting for what he wanted, finally realising he deserves happiness and allowing Travis into his life completely, permanently.

Book 3 is the story of Charlie finally realising he can stand on his own two feet. He’s so busy with everything that’s going on around him, he doesn’t think for one minute he could do any of it without Travis. Charlie believes he’s only strong because Travis is his rock.

Red Dirt Heart 3 is seeing the growth of Charlie Sutton come full circle.

excerptTravis and I sat, not far from where we’d stopped. He found a bit of a rise, and we sat there until the sun headed toward its western bed. First he listened to me rant and rave, and then he listened to me sayin’ a whole lotta nothing.  He was just there, so full of patience, that rememberin’ back not so long ago, how stupid I was thinkin’ I could possibly live without him.

I took his hand, and threaded our fingers. “Thank you,” I said.

“What for?”

“For everything. For knowing what I needed. I needed room to breathe and to think, and you just knew. For knowing when I need silence or a kick in the pants.” He smiled at that, and I shrugged. “I dunno how you do it.”

He sighed, long and loud, and looked out over the desert. “Some days I think I’ve got you all figured out, then other days I realise I don’t have the first clue.”

“Sorry to keep you guessing,” I said quietly.

Travis’s laugh carried across the open plain. “Don’t ever apologise for that. I like that I have to keep guessing,” he said. “I thought you once told me that life out here was boring.”

I scoffed out a laugh. “My life used to be boring! I can still remember thinkin’ nothing ever happened out here. It wasn’t that long ago.”

His eyes went wide. It matched his smile. “You make it sound like it’s my fault!”

“It is!” I told him. “Since you got here, it’s been not-boring every day.”

Travis laughed again. “Sorry about that.”

I squeezed his hand. “You deciding to come here was the best thing to ever happen to me.”

“Ah,” he said. “I’ve told you before. I didn’t decide to come here. I had to come here, from the list I got to pick from, the name Sutton Station wouldn’t let me go anywhere else.”

“Like fate or something.”

“Exactly like fate or something.”

 

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? 

My characters usually give me names before they give me a plot. Sometimes not all names are there, but always the MC and it’s always a full name: First and last name.

I quite often find it difficult to pick secondary character names and will quite often message a friend of mine requesting a list of names to meet a criteria/demographic.

 

We’re cover hussies..What was your first impression of this cover?

The beauty of self-publishing is picking my own cover art. J  I have the wonderful help of Sara York (another very talented author in the m/m community) who graciously does my covers for me. I scouted the interwebs looking for red dirt pictures for the top half, and an object for the bottom half.

Red Dirt Heart 1 cover reflects how Charlie saw himself. Very isolated and alone.

Red Dirt Heart 2 cover was more about the desert and the two hats signified the addition of Travis.

Red Dirt Heart 3 cover has more of a green tinge. I wanted to show this as growth, and the desert in bloom is a very true representation of Charlie’s journey in this book.

 

What does writing mean to you?

Writing means staying sane. LOL  I have these characters who talk to me, who have stories that need telling and if I didn’t write, I’m sure they’d drive me insane.

In all seriousness, it’s not just about the income, it’s also about seeing the finished product of characters you’ve given life to. And it’s also about the friends I’ve met along the way.  They’ve played a massive part in why I do what I do.

 

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I’ve had a lot of readers contact me, saying one of my books, and/or characters has touched them in some way.  And that, to me, is the pinnacle of what I do. If I can make a reader connect and feel something, then I’ve done my job.

 

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

If it were a technology and child free day, I’d sleep. Though I could very easily sit on my back patio and read a paperback all day  J

 

What are you currently working on?

I have three WIP’s in the pipeline at the moment. One I’ve well and truly started, it should be around 40k words and hoping to have it released in November. I have another short story I’d like to release around December, and a rough plot outline of a third book.

 

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man?  Confidence.

Boxers, Briefs or Commando?  Briefs. Love a good bulge.

What is on your night stand/dresser? Kindle, phone, pawpaw cream and a notepad and pen.

Hairy chests or smooth? Oooh, both. Depends on the guy, but nothing too hairy.

Cowboy or businessman?  Can I pick both? I’ve written both and loved them equally. I even wrote about one business ad exec who wore cowboy boots J

Tattoos or piercings? Tattoos. If done right.

Secret talent?  I won a beer sculling contest at a pub I worked at, two years in a row (against guys too). Doubt I could do it now though…

What’s your guilty pleasure?  Anything sweet. Usually with coffee.

Celebrity crush?  Chris Pine and Zach Quinto (being space husbands)

Night owl or early bird? Night owl.

Twitter or Facebook? I Facebook more, but probably prefer Twitter.

Pinterest or Instagram? Pinterest.

ebooks or paperbacks? I love the convenience of ebooks, but there’s NOTHING like a paperback book J

 

WillPride

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

