Interview with author @kimmullican – Thicker Than Water #mystery #suspense

Kim Mullican - Thicker Than Water cover

Thicker Than Water

Kim Mullican

 

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

Date of Publication:  June 15, 2014

ISBN: 978-1500218799

ASIN: B00L1DYI58

Number of pages: 214

Word Count: 59,332

Buy Links: Kindle   Paperback

blurbBlood may be thicker than water, but family isn’t necessarily who you’re related to. In this suspenseful mystery with a romantic twist, we follow Private Investigator Michelle Mott on her most exciting case to date.

Wisecracking Mott has been a loner since her parents died. When Daniel Cardinale walks into her office with her most interesting case yet, his world threatens to turn hers upside down. He needs her to find out who is sending him anonymous money and what the truth is behind his dead fiancé’s demise. If his case weren’t complicating her life enough, local crime lord Gino Salito has taken an interest in Mott.

Mott’s empty life begins to fill up with an unexpected and rag-tag group of people, and she’s afraid her dangerous life will take them away, leaving her alone once again.

In truth, it’s Mott’s life that may be the one at risk. She’ll have to hope that blood isn’t always thicker than water.

interview2

Thank you so much for hosting me!

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

Each morning I run a central line from the coffee pot into my main artery. Once secured with tape, I get the husband off to work, the kids off to school, the dogs fed and watered. If I’m extremely lucky, I remember to brush my teeth before 8 a.m. Then the house is finally quiet and I am usually glued to my laptop until someone pulls me away kicking and screaming.

Also, I researched having a clone and now I’m on the NSA watch list.

 

What 3 words would you use to describe your main character(s)?

1)Stubborn 2)Curious 3)Funny

 

Can you tell us a little bit about Thicker Than Water? Maybe a little snippet?

My MC is Private Investigator Michelle Mott. She’s a loner, which works well with her profession. She tends to land herself in hot water. This time, local crime lord, Gino Salito has his eyes firmly on her.

Sample: I am about to die. I don’t mean in the Sylvia Plath-we’re-all going-to-die-sometime sort of way. In mere moments, the meathead behind the barrel of the handgun held to my temple will pull the trigger. The hammer will come down, igniting a tiny explosion that will send a lead ball tearing through my cranium. My brains, bones and blood will spray on the area beside me. I won’t even hear a click. I won’t feel a thing. Idiots. This is the least creative way to murder someone.

And the suicide note they had me write sounds nothing like me. No one is going to believe I committed suicide. If they watched one episode of one crime show they’d know I needed gun powder residue on my hands, not duct tape residue on my wrists. This has to be the worst faked suicide in history. That’s what you get when you hire steroid induced freaks with the IQ of a cannoli.

 

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

That you define your family. Your family does not define you.

 

What’s the last line you wrote from your current WIP?

It remained a mystery to most, but for Mark, it was his biggest achievement—even if he did run out of time.

 

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

I’m an avid fisher(wo)man. I’d grab the spousal unit, a boat and head to the closest fishing spot.

 

Quickies

What’s your guilty pleasure? Tirimisu

Celebrity crush? Robert Downey, Jr.

Night owl or early bird? Both

Twitter or Facebook? Facebook

Pinterest or Instagram? Pinterest

ebooks or paperbacks? Paperback

Favorite Book? The Winner by David Baldacci (the spine is falling apart now.)

Favorite TV Show? The Blacklist

Favorite color? Black

What are you listening to you right now? The fan. I know, that’s not very exciting, but…everyone is in bed!

divider3

bioImage1Kim Mullican was born in Northwest Indiana, where she was raised on the family farm.  She attended International Business College in Fort Wayne before continuing on at Indiana Wesleyan University.

When she’s not writing, she’s probably cooking a meal for her rather large family.  An assortment of children and pets keep her on her toes.

On the rare chance she and Mr. Mullican can pull away, you can find them on a quiet body of water, fishing poles in hand.

She’s a cross-genre writer offering, paranormal, mystery, suspense, thriller and more.

https://www.goodreads.com/kimmullican

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Kim-Mullican/200009130049700?ref=hl

http://kimmullican.wordpress.com

http://kimmullican.com

 

Thank you Kim for stopping by today and answering our questions.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

