Interview and #Giveaway: All In by @AutumnStarkAuth ~ @GoddessFish

NBtM All In Banner copyMEDIA KIT All In Cover

BLURB:

Jay Markham, a wildly popular actor and a chronic womanizer, has become bored with his life. Jay decides to take a break and goes to visit his life-long best friend and famous romance novelist, Anthony Tate. But just because Jay decides to take a break doesn’t mean his fans will let him. The fans and the paparazzi follow him to the small Washington town and, in an effort to escape a particularly dogged fan, Jay ducks into the first open door he can find.

Parker Hardisson is a fairly normal, if self-contained, woman in her, ahem, early thirties. Relatively happy with her life as a freelance translator, she gets to work out of her own home and enjoy her life as quiet and drama-free as possible. So what if she’s a teensy bit lonely? So what if there’s some part of her that wants to explore the world? Things are working out just fine. So, when a mega-movie star comes slamming into her house, she wonders if she’s finally cracked.

Parker seizes the opportunity to make the deal of a lifetime. No strings, no questions. The problem is, Jay is playing this game by his own rules.

interview2

Hi. Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Thank you and I’m thrilled to be here!

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a 30-something Jack of All Trades who loves telling love stories. I’ve done a little bit of everything. I’ve traveled. I’ve had four or five jobs at a time. I’ve been lucky and I’ve been busted with the worst luck around. The things that stay the same through all of it is that there’s always an adventure to be found in there for me and that I’m looking to turn it into a story. Though I don’t base my stories on myself (on purpose), a lot of my personal experiences get splashed through the pages. Half the stuff that’s happened to me no one would believe in real life anyway. Might as well put it in a book. 😉

 

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

I loved writing Jay. Through the whole process he was such a strong presence; he told me exactly what needed to be written and when. He was such a fun character to write because Jay is a guy who knows exactly what he wants when he sees it. From there it’s all just strategy to make the rest of the world catch up with him. Unlike a lot of heroes, he doesn’t have any particular hang-ups that hold him back. In fact…he should probably get a few. Honorable mention? The Stevens Boys and Tony. Their flammable chemistry always amuses me.

 

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Witty, Sensuous, and Afraid.

 

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

This book is the second book in the In Plain Sight series. Jay Markham is the best friend of the hero, Tony Tate in Book One, Break Me. Parker Hardisson is the best friend of the heroine, Abby Stevens. This book takes place in Parker and Abby’s hometown of Sisters’ Falls in Washington State. It’s several months after the end of Book One and we find Jay looking for something more in his life. Here’s a snippet from the book in which Jay and Tony are “accidentally” listening to a conversation Abby is having with Parker over the phone after Parker and Jay have made each other’s acquaintance:

By mutual agreement, both men went silent on the porch when they heard Abby squealing through the kitchen window. They were also not above eavesdropping apparently.

Tony eased up in his chair and peered over the windowsill.

“She’s on the phone.”

Jay knew it had to be with Parker.

“She’s jumping up and down. Universal signal for female excitement.”

“No shit, Sherlock.”

Tony glared at him, but went silent so they could “happen to hear” pieces of the conversation.

“So you aren’t with Jay?”

Definitely Parker, then. Tony raised an eyebrow at him, but Jay just shrugged.

“And you don’t want to be, right?”

Jay wasn’t sure if he was relieved or annoyed that Parker must have dismissed the idea of being with him. He waited to hear what came next, quietly irritated that he even wanted to hear.

“Oh, well. That’s good then. Jay’s good for a quick bit of fun. Like a vacation.”

Jay didn’t hear the rest of the conversation because his anger made it impossible to hear anything other the blood rushing through his ears.

 

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? 

I do have to get them just right. I’m a stickler for naming my characters correctly. Sometimes I can’t keep writing until I find the right name (I’ve gotten lucky and haven’t had this problem too much in this series). I think most authors are thinking of specific character traits when they look for names and I’m no exception. Parker Hardisson, the heroine of this novel, came about because I was sort of obsessed with a TV show, Leverage, at the time I wrote it. Parker and Hardisson are two characters who I absolutely adore and I think Parker, my Parker, embodies a lot of their characteristics, too.

 

We’re cover hussies..What was your first impression of this cover?

Holy crap that’s hot. Covers are kind of a big deal for me and I wanted mine to be something that stood out, related to my book, and didn’t make me want to laugh. I love it because it’s all of those things!

 

What does writing mean to you?

To me writing means being able to put words to a page that touch people in all the right ways. You know, I come from an educated background and I hear all kinds of talk flying back and forth across all kinds of forums about what “good” writing is and what it is not. I have to tell you that I’ve read great stories in terribly boring, but “artistic” writing and I’ve read okay stories in exciting, but formulaic writing. What really makes a reader happy is a great story told in an exciting way. The “art,” the grammar, and the formatting all get worked out in the process. Sure, a spliced comma can be a little bit distracting, but a good story makes me forget I’m even reading commas. Writing to me is the ability to lose yourself in the pages so that someone who reads it can lose themselves in your words.

 

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I really hope my readers take away that love is both fantastical and gritty. I like writing real stories about real people. My characters are full of flaws because we are all full of flaws. I want my readers to see themselves in my characters in some way and recognize that they can see their own love story as well.

 

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

I would probably spend a huge chunk of the day reading. I love reading, but it often gets pushed to the side when there’s work to be done. There’s nothing like a good book, an iced latte, and something yummy to snack on.

 

What are you currently working on?

Currently, I’m working on the fourth book in the In Plain Sight Series, Woman on Top. It’s a book a lot of people have said they’re looking forward to and, frankly, is a lot of fun to write. It’s Nicky Stevens’ story.

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? Neck

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? Boxer Briefs!

What is on your night stand/dresser? Water bottle, lamp, three or four photo frames, a stuffed dog, a mechanical chicken (the dog and the chicken were both gifts), and my iPad.

Hairy chests or smooth? Smooth. Or only a little hair.

Cowboy or businessman? Businessman…who can ride a horse 😉

Tattoos or piercings? Tattoos…but some piercings are pretty hot.

Secret talent? The more anxious or nervous I am, the calmer I appear.

What’s your guilty pleasure? Right now it’s One Direction’s “Story of My Life.” The shame is killing me. Also, mint chocolate chip ice cream.

Celebrity crush? Just one? Ok. I’ll go with Ryan Reynolds. He’s been going strong in my brain lately.

Night owl or early bird? Both. But usually I only get work done as an early bird.

Twitter or Facebook? Facebook

Pinterest or Instagram? Pinterest

ebooks or paperbacks? Paperbacks

Is there anything else you like to add?

I sincerely hope your readers enjoy the story of Jay and Abby. If you do enjoy it, check out the other books in the series. 🙂

Thank you again for having me!

dragonflyspacer2

excerpt2It was possibly nine in the morning the next day before Abby barged into Parker’s house. To be fair, Abby had used her key which Jay must have given back to her, but it was as close to barging as one might get, all things considered. Parker was barely awake.

 

“Parker? Are you home?”

 

“Where else would I be?” Parker tried to sound pleasant, but at best she knew she sounded grouchy as she called out to Abby.

 

“I don’t know, having wild sex with Jay in Los Angeles?” Abby walked into the kitchen as Parker was focusing on pouring coffee grinds into her espresso machine. Parker graced her with a snort as an answer. “Well, you could be.”

 

“I don’t know what that overgrown pretty boy told you, but I am not going to Los Angeles.”

 

“I’ll wait till you’ve had your coffee.” Abby grabbed her own cup and patiently sat on one of the bar stools under her kitchen island. Parker tried not to remember exactly what had been done on that particular counter while also trying to remember if she’d sanitized the thing since the sex marathon had started.

 

“Coffee won’t change my answer.”

 

“Might make you more talkative though.”

 

“Or more able to kill without getting caught.”

 

“I’ll take the chance.” Abby grinned at her and Parker sighed.

dragonflyspacer2

AUTHOR Bio and Links:MEDIA KIT Autumn Stark

Autumn Stark writes Romance with a sense of humor and a whole lotta steamy fun. Doesn’t mean there aren’t a few whips every now and then, but she’s a sucker for a happy ending. Autumn has been writing in one capacity or another her entire life, but Break Me is her debut novel.

Autumn Stark is the pen name for author and publisher, April Oglesbee. (http://apriloglesbee.com/)

All In is the second book in the All In series. Book 1 is already available on Amazon, B&N, and iBooks. Book 3 will be released in June 2014.

 

Website: http://www.autumnstarkauthor.com/about-autumn.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/autumn.stark.338

Twier:https://twitter.com/AutumnStarkAuth

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7562617.Autumn_Stark

This is the second book in the All In series. Book 1 is already available on Amazon, B&N, and iBooks. Book 3 will be released in June 2014.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21471824-i-want-crazy?from_search=true

Buy Links:

Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/All-Plain-Sight-Autumn-Stark-ebook/dp/B00IM4RHAW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1395452937&sr=1-1

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/all-in-nell-stark/1116852825?ean=2940149562060

giveaway4

 Autumn will be awarding at each stop a signed copy of All In to a randomly drawn commenter (US ONLY), and a Grand Prize of a $25 Amazon/BN GC plus a signed copy of All In will be awarded to one randomly drawn commenter during the tour (US ONLY).

 

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better the chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/04/virtual-nbtm-book-tour-all-in-by-autumn.html

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Thanks for hosting!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much for having me! I really enjoyed being in your site!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Rita Wray

     /  July 14, 2014

    Great interview and excerpt.

    Like

    Reply
  4. amy bowens

     /  July 14, 2014

    Sounds like an amazing book going by the excerpt! Really looking forward to reading this .

    Like

    Reply
  5. bn100

     /  July 14, 2014

    Nice interview

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    Like

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the interesting interview and the fun snippet. Good luck on the tour!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

