Up By Five by @ErinNicholas ~ Interview and #Giveaway

 

Up By Five

UpByFive72lgUp By Five

By: Erin Nicholas

Releasing: April 8th, 2014

 

Blurb:

He’s in the middle of the last thing he wanted… and the best thing to ever happen.

Ace paramedic Conner Dixon has sworn to never live with another woman after raising his four younger sisters. They have been giving him gray hair since they lost their father fifteen years ago. Now they’re all in love and Conner’s ready to retire– from worrying, fixing problems and cleaning up messes.

Of course, when his fellow paramedic, Gabrielle Evans, needs a place to stay after her apartment burns down, Conner can’t say no. But it’s no problem– Gabby’s just one of the guys.

Gabby’s penchant for poker and her ability to overhaul a transmission definitely make her different from Conner’s usual women. She also has no interest in getting involved with him. Conner’s crazy mix of family and friends is the last thing Gabby needs right now. She has her sights set on medical school in the fall and knows success depends on focus and commitment.

But within forty-eight hours of moving in, Gabby’s in the middle of a family crisis that could disprove all her I-don’t-need-anyone bluster and Conner’s in the middle of the last thing he wanted-a girl and all her stuff, all over his stuff. Still, the more she makes herself at home, the more he thinks that’s maybe exactly where her stuff should be. For good.

Warning: Contains a girl who thinks she wants to be just one of the guys, a guy who happily proves why that won’t work, and a very good reason to buy cinnamon roll icing-you know, other than for use on cinnamon rolls.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20526645-up-by-five

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Five-Counting-Love-Erin-Nicholas-ebook/dp/B00IYG08J0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1395432920&sr=8-1&keywords=up+by+five

interview2

Hi Erin. Welcome to All I Want and More. We’re glad to have you here.

Thanks so much for letting me stop by!

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a married mother of two who has published sixteen contemporary romance novels. I’ve spent my whole life in small towns in the Midwest and love where I call home. I drink too much coffee, spend too much time on Facebook, have a deep love of cupcakes and am a bit of a TV-holic.

 

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

My first reaction was to say Gabby, the heroine. I love her and loved getting to know her. But I really have to say Conner. Conner Dixon is the hero… he’s also the older brother to the four heroines in the first four books in this series. His sisters have each fallen in love with one of Conner’s best friends. Poor guy, right? J But it’s been fun getting to know this guy over FIVE books and, since he’s been so adamant about his sisters and friends not hooking up, it was really fun to watch him fall this time!

 

What 3 words would you use to describe your main characters?

Conner: cocky, protective, sexy

Gabby: feisty, driven, confident

 

Can you tell us a little bit about this book? Maybe a little snippet?

This is the fifth book in the Counting on Love series. The first four books followed Conner’s younger sisters falling in love with four of his best friends. Now it’s his turn. And there’s only one girl who’s right for him—the girl he’s always thought of as just one of the guys J Until the night her apartment building burns down…

 

“So, um, Gabby…if you need anything, all you have to do is ask, okay?” he said. “I’m sorry about…all of this.”

She gave him a small sad smile. “Thanks. I’m glad no one was hurt. And like they say, it’s just stuff. But it was my stuff. So, yeah this pretty much sucks.”

He nodded. He could imagine. “Well, I’m serious—anything you need.”

Her smile brightened and he felt stupidly pleased that he’d cheered her up somehow.

“Thanks, Conner.”

“Okay.”

He stood looking at her. Her hair was really long. And it looked thick. It was really shiny too and had a slight wave to it. She looked good with her hair down.

Sierra cleared her throat and Conner glanced at her. She gave him a what-are-you-doing look?

Right. What was he doing? Nothing. Leaving. He was done here.

But he didn’t feel like he was done.

He had no idea what else he thought he might need to do, but he didn’t feel done.

“You okay, Conner?” Sierra asked.

He nodded. “Yeah. I’m …glad you’re safe, G.”

“Thanks.”

Her smile, even bigger than before, called his attention to her mouth again.

That along with the skimpy sleepwear and the surprising curves and the tousled hair…

One thing was clear—Gabrielle Evans was not just one of the guys.

 

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality?

Yes, I have to get them just right and they need to fit. I have a list of male and female names that I keep track of as I hear or see them and then I go through the list and find the ones that fit. But I can’t start writing a new book without a book title and without the characters’ names in place.

 

We’re cover hussies..What was your first impression of this cover?

I loved it! I had a lot of input on this one. I was thrilled they used that photo. I love how all of the covers in this series fit together.

 

What does writing mean to you?

It’s part of who I am. I know it sounds cheesy but it’s true. I can’t not do it. I’ve done it as long as I can remember. And now I feel blessed every single day that someone loved my writing enough to make it into a book and that readers will spend their time and money on me! It’s surreal a lot of the time.

 

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I hope they feel good—uplifted, hopeful, like they’ve connected with something positive and that love is possible for everyone. The world can be rough. We need things to make us feel happy and hopeful. I hope my books can be part of that.

 

If you had a technology free day, what would you do?

Sleep in, then read in bed for awhile, go for a walk, then lunch with a friend, then have a nice leisurely evening hanging out and talking with my family—maybe play some cards and make some cookies. Wow, that all sounds really nice… I’m going to have to make this happen soon! J

 

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a new series that I’m releasing this summer! The series is called Sapphire Falls and book one, Getting Out of Hand will be out in June! Getting Worked Up will be out in July and Getting Dirty will be out in August!

 

Quickie Time

Sexiest feature on a man? Smile

Boxers, Briefs or Commando? Boxers

Pj’s or nude? Me pjs… him nude 😉

What is on your night stand/dresser? Lamp, water bottle, books, kindle, notebook and pens (lots of pens) and alarm clock

Hairy chests or smooth? smooth

Cowboy or businessman? How about a cowboy businessman?

Tattoos or piercings? Tattoos

Secret talent? I can play the piano

What’s your guilty pleasure? Binge watching shows on Netflix in my pjs J

Celebrity crush? Ryan Reynolds

Heels or flats? Flats

Night owl or early bird? Night owl for sure!

Twitter or Facebook? Facebook

Pinterest or Instagram? Pinterest

ebooks or paperbacks? Ebooks. I love both, but I’m a kindle addict now.

 

 

Is there anything else you like to add?

Thanks so much for having me and letting me go on and on today!

 

Thank you for being here Erin and for answering our questions

dragonflyspacer2

Author Bio:erin

I’ve been reading romance since my mom first let me into her book cupboard when I was about fourteen. LaVyrle Spencer, Julie Garwood, Debbie Macomber… they took my ‘happily ever after’ ideas from animated princesses to real people in the real world.

I’ve been writing romance almost as long. Many a family car trip was spent with my head bent over a spiral notebook in the back seat. I’ll confess that my very first attempts at fiction were fantasy and paranormals, influenced by my father’s love of the Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia, and the original Alice in Wonderland. If Harry Potter had been around, I’m sure he would have been on the bedtime story shelf as well.

But it wasn’t long until I started writing about true love and that’s where I’ve been ever since.

I’m so thrilled to be able to share these stories with you! I hope that they make you smile, sigh, maybe even choke up a little. Most of all, I hope that they help you believe in magical things like first kisses, the spark of passion, and the power of true love.

Website: http://www.erinnicholas.com/

Blog: http://erinnicholas.blogspot.com/

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ErinNicholasBooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ErinNicholasAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ErinNicholas

Nine Naughty Novelists Blog: http://ninenaughtynovelists.blogspot.com/

NNN Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/the9NN

 

giveaway4

 

Tour-wide giveaway of a $25 gift card for Amazon/Barnes & Noble.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Erin also wants to have a giveaway of any one (1) of her backlist books at each tour stop.

So please comment below and I will pick a winner on Saturday

 

Good Luck

 

divider2

 

 

Tour Schedule:

 

4/1     I am, Indeed

Redheads Review it Better

4/2     Rage, Sex and Teddy Bears

4/4     Riverina Romantics

Delilah Devlin

4/7     S.J. Maylee

All I Want and More

4/9   Housewife Blues and Chihuahua Stories

All Things Romance

The Book Pushers

4/11 A Book Lovers Review

Ex Libris

4/15 Reading Between the Wines

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Yep, overbearing younger and older brother…complicated by our not growing up together…makes relations a bit strained at times! Thanks for the giveaway and good luck with the release, looks like an interesting story!

    Like

    Reply
  2. I dont have an overbearing older brother but it would be nice to have one because they would look out for you and be there when you need them. Thanks for the awesome giveaway.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Heather

     /  April 8, 2014

    I had a younger brother, but he wasn’t overbearing. I think it would’ve been a pain to have an overbearing big brother.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much for the giveaway, I look forward to reading a story from this new to me author!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

