Interview and #Giveaway: Allyson Lindt – Holding Her Close (Bits and Bytes Series) @GoddessFish

VBT-Bits-and-Bytes-BannerHoldingHerClose

BLURB:

Zach is haunted by ex-girlfriends. The day his fiancée dumped him, she also sold her shares of his multi-billion dollar corporation. On top of that, the girl who broke his heart in high school—the only woman he’s never been able to forget—is back in his life. She’s filling his business partner’s head with delusions of recovering from the hostile takeover, and haunting Zach’s most vivid fantasies. But Zach’s got a plan to solve half the problem: one night with her, and he can put the past behind him.

It’s been years since Rae talked to her high school sweetheart. But her best friend is his business partner, and running in the same circles has caught up to her. Rae is seeing Zach everywhere, including her explicit, rampant imagination. When he proposes a single night together for closure, she hopes it will be just what she needs to move on.

The past and the present intertwine as “Just this once” becomes “Just one more time.” When Rae discovers the solution to Zach’s business problems the entire situation becomes one giant knot. Can he trust her enough to risk his heart and livelihood a second time, or will experience convince him to walk away from everything?

divider1EXCERPT:

A quiet knock filled the dark living room, sending a tremor through Rae, and she paused. She swallowed and padded toward the door. Her heart flipped when she peered through the peephole. Zach stood on the other side, tugging on his ponytail.

She flipped the deadbolt off and opened the door enough to let him in. He took the silent offer and stepped inside, kicking the door shut behind him. His hands rested on either side of her face, and he kissed her. There was hunger in his lips. It stole her breath as he held her close, and she gasped when they broke apart. He studied her, blue eyes frantic.

She didn’t know what else to do. She returned the kiss, pushing closer. The sensations set her nerve endings on fire, and she stumbled back, pulling him with her. She hit the arm of the couch, lost her balance, and landed on the cushions.

He laughed as he knelt on the couch, straddling her, and brushed a loose strand of hair out of her eyes. “I couldn’t sleep. I was out driving, and I got your message, and I… I don’t even know. I had to see you.”

“What are we doing?”

He shook his head. “Not talking. For God’s sake, we’ve done enough of that.” He leaned forward, lips brushing her collarbone and tracing a line up her neck. “We can hash it all out later, I promise, but I want you so bad right now—and even if you made me talk, I’d tell you whatever you wanted to hear to have you.”

She arched her back and moaned as his lips roamed her skin. “Yeah. Later is good for me too.”

divider1

interview2

Tell us a little about your book?

Holding Her Close is what happens when a cast of characters sits in my head for more than a decade, demanding I tell their story. Zach and Rae dated in high school, and things ended on a pretty sour note. Now that they’re all grown up, and still have friends in common, they’re going to try and put that past behind them so they can be civil to each other. Which is great in theory, except deep down, neither wants to let go of the better memories, and the more bitter ones still have a hold on them.

How much emotion does it take from you to write?

So, so much. If I’m stressed, or can’t find my center, I have the hardest time writing. And I frequently will realize I’m making expressions along with my characters as I write them. I don’t think writing would bring me nearly so much enjoyment if I couldn’t pour myself into my characters’ emotions.

What is your favorite part of the book?VBT-Bits-and-Bytes-Book-Cover-Banner

There’s a scene right where Zach and Rae are both finally starting to let down their defenses. They’re admitting they’re both to blame, and realizing they still care:

Rae flipped the deadbolt off and opened the door enough to let Zach in. He took the silent offer and stepped inside, kicking the door shut behind him. His hands rested on either side of her face, and he kissed her. There was hunger in his lips. It stole her breath as he held her close, and she gasped when they broke apart. He studied her, blue eyes frantic.

She didn’t know what else to do. She returned the kiss, pushing closer. The sensations set her nerve endings on fire, and she stumbled back, pulling him with her. She hit the arm of the couch, lost her balance, and landed on the cushions.

He laughed as he knelt on the couch, straddling her, and brushed a loose strand of hair out of her eyes. “I couldn’t sleep. I was out driving, and I got your message, and I… I don’t even know. I had to see you.”

“What are we doing?”

He shook his head. “Not talking. For God’s sake, we’ve done enough of that.” He leaned forward, lips brushing her collarbone and tracing a line up her neck. “We can hash it all out later, I promise, but I want you so bad right now—and even if you made me talk, I’d tell you whatever you wanted to hear to have you.”

You can only pick 3 words for your main characters..what would they be?

For Zach—arrogant, charismatic, confident

For Rae—intelligent, reserved, independent

Which was the easiest character to write and the hardest ~ and why?

Scott—Zach’s best friend (who has his own book next in the series, Conflict of Interest)—was easiest to write. There’s something about Scott that always speaks to me, and I have to admit, he’s probably been the hardest to walk away from now that the series is over.

Zach was hardest to write. He’s got a driven, aggressive mindset that doesn’t come naturally to me, and it was difficult to step into those shoes.

(If this is a series) How many books are you shooting for in this series?

This is a four book series, and all four books (Holding Her Close, Conflict of Interest, Toeing the Line, and Learning New Tricks) are all available now.

What are you currently working on?

I’ve decided to take both my geek and the smexy to a new level. I’m working on a m/f/m ménage novella centered around three individuals who come together to play Dungeons & Dragons, and end up taking the role play to a very real new level.

How do you deal with unruly characters? When they won’t cooperate and don’t do what you expected?

I’m not very good at putting a character in their place. If they want to be out of control, I usually let them run rampant. At least at first. In the end, it’s about 50/50 whether I end up cutting their lack of cooperation, or using it to change the direction of the story completely.

What’s one thing that you enjoy about writing?

I get to live other lives, and see the world through so many perspectives that aren’t my own. There’s always something new to experience.

Since we’re cover hussies….what was your first impression of your cover?

A. I worked pretty closely with the cover artist on this one. I’ve gone back and forth a few times about the final design, but the moment I saw this couple, I knew they were who I needed.

What do you prefer ebooks or paperbacks?

I’m a techie, and if allowed, a packrat. Since I’m running out of room, and I still want to collect books, it’s all ebook for me. I will pick up a hardback if I really love the book, but I don’t purchase a lot of paperbacks these days.

Is there a genre you would like to write but are a little apprehensive to try?

I’d love to write suspense. Something with lots of tension, and secrets, and corporate espionage, and double crossing, and big reveals. I’m not sure if I can keep my mood somber long enough to pull that off, but I’d love to try.

Okay…. personal time!!!! Oh yeah, I go there… Hahah…

Eep! Okay. Fire away.

 What is on your night stand?

A. My cell phone. Always when I’m home, unless I’m using it. An empty coffee mug. And until about thirty seconds ago, a long-haired gray tabby cat. He’s gone off to find food, though.

What are you listening to you right now?

A. I think if such a thing as a metal-head card existed, I’d be about to have mine revoked. Right now I’m on a big pop-country kick. Lots of Carrie Underwood in my current playlist.

 What are you reading right now?

A. I’m re-reading Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead. I loved this book last year when it came out, and I was lucky enough to snag a review copy of the sequel, The Immortal Crown. Which was just as incredible and made me want to read book 1 again.

What is your favorite season? Holiday?

Spring is my favorite season – the temperature is just right, everything is coming to life and green, and there’s lots of gorgeous rain. But my favorite holiday is Christmas. I love finding the perfect gifts for people.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Right now—sleep. It’s been a long few weeks at work J But normally, read, discover new movies, go for drives in the canyons, and play video games.

Quickie Time

 Dark or Milk Chocolate? Dark

Favorite color? Red

Left or right handed? Right

Junk or Health Food? Junk

Night owl or early bird? Early bird

Leather or Lace? Leather

Soft or Hard… Bed, where was your mind?;) hard

Cowboy or businessman? businessman

Tattoos or piercings? tattoos

Hairy chests or smooth? smooth

Sexiest feature on a man? Eyes.

Vampire or Werewolf? Vampire

Twitter and/or Facebook? Twitter

Pinterest or not? Yup

What’s the last thing you Googled? SET IDENITY_INSERT OFF – it was a day job related thing. Not quite so interesting as some Google searches.

 Is there anything else you like to add?

It’s always a blast to visit here, thanks so much for having me back.  And of course, I’d love to meet your readers and fans, and know their answer to one of your quick questions—milk chocolate or dark?

divider1

AUTHOR Bio and Links:allysonlindt

Allyson Lindt is a full-time geek and a fuller-time contemporary romance author. She prefers that her geeky heroes come with the alpha expansion pack and adores a heroine who can hold her own in a boardroom. She loves a sexy happily-ever-after and helping deserving cubicle dwellers find their futures together.

Find Allyson Lindt

Website: http://allysonlindt.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Allyson-Lindt/116062025108551

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AllysonLindt

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7024176.Allyson_Lindt

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/author/allysonlindt

**

Buy Holding Her Close:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DFTUP94/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00DFTUP94&linkCode=as2&tag=itsalwabothej-20

Buy Conflict of Interest:

Liquid Silver Books: https://www.lsbooks.com/conflict-of-interest-p782.php

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00CKYEPK0/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00CKYEPK0&linkCode=as2&tag=itsalwabothej-20

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/conflict-of-interest-allyson-lindt/1115273894?ean=9781931761857

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-conflictofinterest-1186277-149.html

Buy Toeing the Line:

Liquid Silver Books: https://www.lsbooks.com/toeing-the-line-p820.php

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EN8QAMM/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00EN8QAMM&linkCode=as2&tag=itsalwabothej-20

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-toeingtheline-1269561-149.html

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/toeing-the-line-allyson-lindt/1116789055?ean=9781622100194

Buy Learning New Tricks:

Liquid Silver Books: https://www.lsbooks.com/learning-new-tricks-p862.php

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HC1CZ3A/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00HC1CZ3A&linkCode=as2&tag=itsalwabothej-20

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-learningnewtricks-1374823-149.html

divider1

giveaway4

Allyson will be awarding prizes as follows:

* Grand prize at the end of the four week tour – a Kindle paperwhite to one randomly drawn winner.

* Each week, one randomly drawn commenter will win a $10 Amazon GC

Click on the link below to enter

>>>> a Rafflecopter giveaway <<<<

Good Luck

Don’t forget to answer Allyson’s Question

Thanks for being here Allyson.

**

I encourage you to follow the tour and
comment; the more you comment, the better the chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2014/02/virtual-book-tour-bits-and-bytes-series.html

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Dark chocolate all the way, especially with hazelnuts. The older I get, the less I like super sweet flavors and prefer the slight bitterness of the dark chocolate.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much for having me back! It’s always great to visit here.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks for hosting!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Ha- I guess I’m still in the super sweet phase. I love me some chocolate ice cream with ribbons of fudge and chocolate covered nuts! lol

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

    Like

    Reply
    • allysonlindt

       /  March 11, 2014

      Ooh, Andra, I love ice cream like that. Or with cookie pieces. Or any kind of ribbons of chocolate or caramel… Yum!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Both? It actually depends on whether I have bread with it as well or not. I love milk chocolate with some bread to take away some of the sweet, but I adore dark chocolate on its own 🙂
    Interesting book, looks like a promising summer read (yep, I’m already starting piling romance books up for holidays xD)

    Like

    Reply
    • allysonlindt

       /  March 11, 2014

      ellisdream – Bread and chocolate, I’ve never tried that, but it makes sense. My books aren’t too intense so they make good beach reads, I hope you enjoy this one. Also, yay summer!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Milk chocolate for me~ I love Cadbury’s Fruit & Nut Bars yum.
    Great sounding series, I’ve put all four on my TBR and I do look forward to hearing more about the novella inspired by Dungeons and Dragons 🙂

    ilookfamous(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
    • allysonlindt

       /  March 11, 2014

      I’m looking forward to writing the D&D novella, Elise-Maria, so I hope we both enjoy the results 😀 I hope you enjoy the books when you find time for them. And Cadbury Fruit & Nut bars rule. Absolutely.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Trix

     /  March 11, 2014

    Dark chocolate for sure, though some milk bars are nice…

    vitajex(at)Aol(Dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  8. Amanda Wilcox

     /  March 11, 2014

    Milk chocolate all the way. White is my favorite though.

    Like

    Reply
  9. bn100

     /  March 11, 2014

    Nice interview
    milk chocolate

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    Like

    Reply
  10. chickie434

     /  March 11, 2014

    I loved the fun interview. As for me, I’m a dark chocolate fan.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  11. Rita Wray

     /  March 13, 2014

    Love both but prefer milk chocolate.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  12. Allyson Lindt is a new-to-me author. Thanks for the heads up!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

