Guest Post and #Giveaway: K.F. Breene – Into the Darkness ~ @GoddessFish @KFBreene

VBT Into the Darkness Banner copy

divider1

MEDIA KIT Into the DarknessBLURB:

I’d always been different. I saw objects in the night where others saw emptiness. Large, human shaped shadows, fierce yet beautiful, melting into the darkness. I collected secrets like other women collected bells; afraid to fully trust lest my oddities be exposed.

Until I saw him. He’d been gliding down the street, unshakable confidence in every step. It wasn’t just that he was breathtakingly handsome with perfect features. Something about him drew me. Sucked my focus to him and then tugged at my body. As his eyes met mine, I was entrapped.

No one had noticed him. He’d been right there, just beyond the light, but only I had perceived.

I had to know if he was real. Or maybe I really was crazy. And even when my secret box was blasted wide open, dangers hurled at me like throwing knives, I couldn’t stop until I unraveled his true identity.

I just had to know.

“She was fated to live.”

“Then why must you save her?”

“Often Fate is struck down by dumb luck.”

Buy Links: Amazon |BN | iTunes

During the tour INTO THE DARKNESS is free at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

divider1

guestpost

How to handle negative criticism.

Truth be told, bad reviews are the worst part of writing. You can get five outstanding reviews, where the fan is offering to feed you grapes, and one terrible review. Guess which one will stick with you?

Well, if you’re like me, it’ll be the bad one.

A scathing review from a reader will wilt my whole day. There has been many times where I’ve seriously considered not publishing anything else. I would keep writing, but not publish the end result.

I’m not being melodramatic, I swear. I hate it that much.

It is at these times where it’s important to put things in perspective.

If you look at Interview with the Vampire, a book popular enough that they made it into a movie, by a woman gifted enough that everyone knows her by name, you expect a high average rating. Instead, Goodreads has it at about a 3.75 or so.

In contrast, you can take a book with sub-par writing and not much of a story, and that book might be outrageously popular. There’s no telling what the masses will like. Also, if you write a story that belongs in a certain niche, and a wide audience comes across it, you’ll get the terrible reviews from those people that just don’t like the genre (this happens when you offer up a free book). I have to talk myself down off the ledge often.

To keep things in perspective, though, I ask myself things like:

Did my beta readers like it?

Did I live up to my fans’ expectations? (this matters the most)

Did the sales speak on behalf of reviews not left?

If I can answer yes to those things, then it’s easier to harden myself. To look at the bad reviews and try to take something away from them. I can then use those reviews as critical evaluations and amend my stories going forward. It’s all you can do.

As an Indy writer, my only hope is that a few good reviews hit Amazon before the bad ones show up, because the way Amazon works, many people often push “helpful” for the negative reviews, which places those at the top of the pile. It then becomes the first thing others see, warding them away from the evil of your writing. It kind of begs people to leave bad reviews in hopes of getting a high ranking in the “helpful” Amazon land. I feel bad for some new authors that learn this the hard way—I remember that lesson well.

Still, it is what it is. That’s the price of putting yourself out there. “Writers write things to give readers something to read.” Finding Forrester.

One review at Apple, that I still find hilarious, was: “No. Just don’t even waste your time.”

Well said, my friend. Good helpful feedback to those contemplating the free purchase. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I am going to take off before you find your torch and pitchfork and strike up an angry mob…

divider1

excerpt2Stefen approached the wide bed, looking down on the limp human, her angelic face devoid of color. Her arms rested on her chest, her body so still she looked dead.

A shot of fear pierced Stefen’s chest. “Will she make it?”

Luke’s head shook before he sighed. “She shouldn’t have made it last time. Yet she did. Something is holding her to this life.”

“My blood helped last time. Will it help again?”

Luke sighed, raising his eyebrows in a facial shrug. “If you can get her to drink, she might pull out of it. Might. She should be dead already; she’s largely catatonic. But…well, she survived last time, so who’s to say?”

Stefen nodded, allowing himself to bestow his gaze back to this woman that had a firm hold on his vitals for reasons he couldn’t understand or explain. The only thing he knew with certainty was that she could not die.

divider1

abouttheauthorA wine country native, K.F. Breene moved to San Francisco for college just shy of a decade ago to pursue a lifelong interest in film. As she settled into the vibrant city, it quickly became apparent that, while she thought making and editing films was great fun, she lacked cinematic genius. For that reason, her career path quickly changed direction. Her next goal was a strange childhood interest, conjured at the dining room table while filling out a form. For some reason, her young self wanted to be an accountant. Thinking on it now, she often wonders how she had any friends. Regardless, it was the direction she finally took.

While she could wrangle numbers with the best of ’em, and even though she wore the crown as the most outspoken, belligerent accountant in the world, her mind got as stuffy as her daily routine. It was here that she dusted off her creative hat and began writing. Now she makes movies in her head, not worried about lighting, shutter speed or editing equipment. Turns out, a computer is much easier to manage than a crowd of actors. She should know, she was an actor at one time.MEDIA KIT bigstock-Lady-Anime-4885039

Website: KFBreene.com

Twitter: @KFBreene

Facebook for friending: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005776656934

Facebook author page (for liking): https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKF

divider1

giveaway4

One randomly chosen commenter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift
card.

Click on the link below to enter

>>>> a Rafflecopter giveaway <<<<

Good Luck

I encourage you to follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better the chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2013/12/virtual-book-tour-into-darkness-by-kf.html

Tour Host Button 2014 beveled copy

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. chickie434

     /  February 28, 2014

    Thanks for the awesome guest post, I’m always curious about how authors take negative criticism.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks for having me. Yes, negative criticism is always the thorn, but the up side is, everyone gets a chance to be heard, regardless of opinion 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Thanks for hosting!

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love the article on how to handle negative criticism! The excerpt rocked, too! kbinmich AT yahoo DOT com

    Like

    Reply
  5. Awesome post! Negative feedback is definitely one of the most difficult things about being a writer. I’d have to agree.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Awesome post! Negative feedback is definitely one of the most difficult things about being a writer. I’d have to agree.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

