Guest Post and #Giveaway with Andrea Speed ~ @RiptideBooks @aspeed

JotD_BacklistBanner

Hello, this is Andrea Speed, author of the Infected series and the Josh of the Damned series, which I will be talking about today. Thanks to All I Want and More Books for having me today.

To win an e-book collection of (Infected: Prey, Josh of the Damned: Pretty Monsters & Peek-a-Boo), answer any one of the following questions in the comments below.

  1. Have you had any nightmare jobs, where the customers/clients might as well have been monsters?
  2. Do you like fantasy stories somewhat grounded in reality, or do you like full bore, pedal to the metal fantasy?
  3. Which monsters would you like to see get their own series? Excluding Dracula or Frankenstein because vampires and sewn together dead people have been done.

***

Pretty_Monsters_0I like to think everyone has a bit of Josh in them.

Oh sure, his setting is absurd: he does the night shift at the convenience store on the mouth of a hell dimension. But being in the service industry is a hard job I know I couldn’t do. My sister works in it, and I doff my cap at her, because it takes so much patience to work with the public. And while Josh’s job is a little bit ridiculous – selling burritos to zombies? – it’s not that farfetched. Haven’t we all felt like we were working with monsters? The monsters he deals with are real, not just figurative, although he deals with those too.Peek-a-Boo 590x900

And while there are your typical suspects – zombies, vampires, werewolves – there are unusual monsters too. A living, man eating mustache, for one. Cthulhu’s half-brother. A yeti that seems to have communication issues, but definitely (and worryingly) has a crush on Josh. A foul mouthed reverse Tooth Fairy. The ever-present, taciturn lizard men. And so much more. While most creatures are happy to purchase their junk food and move on, some can’t be placated with Hostess snacks, and that’s where the trouble starts.

Josh is very patient, making him perhaps the ideal worker for this Quik-Mart shift, as well as motivated not to JotD3_Cover2 color1quit – it’s either this, or going back to Wendy’s. But could they pay you enough to put up with monsters trying to pay with teeth, or werewolves eating cars in the parking lot?  Although if I’m honest, I might choose that over dealing with regular people all the time. (Hey, I’m a curmudgeonly writer. I’m used to scribbling notes on the back of candy wrappers in my crawlspace.) Still, he knew when he took the job that it probably wasn’t the ideal shift. But saving the world? He isn’t even getting overtime for that.

So while we all may have a little bit of Josh in us, at least we really aren’t him. Because boy, is he screwed.

divider1

About the book:JotD3

Josh Caplan is your average late-night convenience store clerk, but the Quik-Mart where he works is nothing like normal with that hell vortex in the parking lot. Waiting on zombies, demons, and other things that go bump in the night might scare some, but they’re actually more polite than the stoners, and Josh welcomes the break in the monotony—especially when he acquires himself a sexy new boyfriend with a deadly secret.

JotD_DustBunnies_500x750Will Josh survive this retail nightmare? It’s a Big Gulp of a chance, but between the hazard pay and the hottie with a sweet tooth for Josh’s candy, it’s a chance he’s willing to take.

 

 

 

 

divider1

About the Author

andyspeedAndrea Speed was born looking for trouble in some hot month without an R in it. While succeeding in finding Trouble, she has also been found by its twin brother, Clean Up, and is now on the run, wanted for the murder of a mop and a really cute, innocent bucket that was only one day away from retirement. (I was framed, I tell you – framed!)

In her spare time, she arms lemurs in preparation for the upcoming war against the Mole Men. Viva la revolution!

Connect with Andrea:

Thank you Andrea for being here today.

Don’t forget to comment answering one of Andrea’s questions for your chance to win.

This is a fun series. Reviews for the books can be found here on the blog

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Just dropping by to see what’s up 🙂 Please don’t enter me in the contest as I have all your wonderful, lickable books – but a monster who needs a story? I’d like to see a canocephalus…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Leta Hutchins

     /  January 9, 2014

    1. My work history is pretty limited. I spent a decade pullin peckers (endangered woodpeckers) on a military base, so surrounded by heavily armed muscle men and explosions, and yeah that’s about it lol. So I never really worked with people at all =P
    2. As for my fantasy, I like it based in contemporary settings as well as completely divergent. I like to switch it up depending on my mood.
    3. I’ve always wanted to read more about the less ‘sexy’ monsters. Harpies, gorgons, ogres, and the like.
    I don’t have the Josh of the Damned books, but I already have Infected: Prey (love me some Roan)

    ❤ Andrea!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. 1.I work as a physiotherapist and i work with people who have skin diseases ( specially psoriasis) and those people are angles but in the fall come the “normal people” and those are a nightmare. aside of the fact that they are perfectly healthy they treat us as if we where their servants catering to their every need….hell!

    2.I love fantasy no matter the setting. If the summary looks good ill read it. I’m not picky.

    3. Do dragons count as monsters? I really love dragons ♥

    I’m currently reading Strange Angels and i like it! ♥

    Like

    Reply
  4. Andrea M

     /  January 10, 2014

    I like my fantasies somewhat grounded in reality – just a tiny bit.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Tyler

     /  January 17, 2014

    I prefer a fantasy grounded in reality, at least somewhat.
    And I have been a waiter, retail clerk and work in a call center for a utility company. I have met the monsters.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

