Review: One Sweet Ride by Jaci Burton

OSRBlurb

Book Six in the Play-by-Play Series

To get what you want you have to move fast.

Gray Preston was born into money, but he’s built his racing empire on hard work and muscle. Now, with millions of fans, his senator father sends one of his aides, Evelyn Hill, to elicit Gray’s help in garnering votes for his upcoming national election. Gray wants nothing to do with his estranged father’s campaign, but Evelyn can be pretty persuasive. She’s willing to learn about racing, and maybe even get a little dirty.

Evelyn’s number-one goal is politics, which makes working with Gray difficult, because his only passion is fast cars. As she and Gray spend time together, he teaches her about the sport he loves, and she learns a lot about the man behind the wheel. The more she learns, the more she wants him. But any desire that threatens to derail the carefully laid plans for her future is a dangerous one.

With the passion Gray and Evelyn share running hotter than either imagined, one of them is going to have to compromise, or run the risk of losing more than their hearts.

review

Hello ladies and gents… Let me start off by saying that I have not read this series in order. I use to have a thing about reading series books in order and I still kinda do but when Fatin (Jaci’s right hand woman) asked me to review this…. Of course I jumped on Grayson… I mean the story lol, right away. ((There was no bribery involved – I  mean seriously have you seen these covers)) I grabbed this one up so fast…  **Oh, Dont tell me you wouldn’t do the same thing, lol** Each of these stories have their own story to tell with each one packed with heat and action… More of which, I cannot say, lol.

Okay, now onto the story… Ms. Jaci rocked my racing world. I am not even a racing fan but I have to admit that after (hell, while reading) I wanted to catch a glimpse of a race. She was very vivid with describing the environments that she puts me in.  She grabs a hold of you and makes you want to know more… All the way until the last page! I also have to give it to her for me not reading in order, I never felt lost in this series nor did I feel when she introduced other guys in the story. Ms. Jaci has crafted a story that has intrigued me and enticed me… But she also made me feel the heat of the track and the fire these two characters bring to the pages.

Grayson is a man who is used of high speeds, tight curves and easy women. His childhood was a privileged one but not an easy one by a long shot. Having a father being in the spotlight all the time, never knowing if he is going to be there for those dad moments as a dad or as the politician. His father wanted him to follow in his footsteps but he had other plans… And let’s just say that his father did not agree with Grayson’s idea of his future. But owning his own race team and being in the top of his game, or should I say car… has put Grayson in the spotlight – one he might not want to find himself in. But the person he will have to work side by side with might prove to be the death of him…

Evelyn is a straight laced kinda woman. She loves to have a good time but her job comes first, always. Which means, normally there is no free time to enjoy herself… But her new assignment might prove to be more than she can handle. Her goal is set  on The White House, to run herself but for right now, she is content to get Grayson’s father in as  Vice-President. But for her achieve that, she has to widen his political voter base. In order to do that, she thinks by tapping into his son’s racing fan base will boost his numbers… She is ready to give anything a try once! But the price she might have to pay in order to get those numbers might prove to break all of her rules…

I cannot tell a lie… These two are on fire from the moment they meet. You see the sparks flying, you see the heat radiating off each other, you see the underlying passion burning… But you also see some past hurt surface, heart breaks are faced and you see a relationship mend. This story has everything but it really has some smoking hot freaking, raw, wild, passionate loving. If you are experiencing some cold temps right now… This book is a must read to warm your ass up! But be warned because this book will heat up more than your engine! 😉 These two go round and round and seem to always be on fire. But I will say that Ms. Jaci did give me quite a scare but she rectified that by an event that just blew me away! But the question is… Will a wreck happen off the track or on the tracks… To find out… You need One Sweet Ride with Grayson and Evelyn! Enjoy! I sure did!

On a side note, I have been buried in school books lately… so this was definitely a great pleasure reading book for me!!!! Thanks Jaci & Fatin!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

