Book Tour and Interview: Michele de Winton-Love Lost and Found (Tour Wide #Giveaway of $25GC)

VBT_LoveLostAndFound_Banner

divider1

LLaF-500Blurb:

Felicity Williams can’t remember the last five years thanks to an accident that wiped out her memory. She fled her old life in hopes of starting fresh and found refuge working on a cruise ship. But her past is coming for her…

Rick McCarthy wakes after a climbing accident to discover that his business partner and fiancée has quit her job and disappeared. He’s trying to accept that she’s run out on him, but now he needs her signature to close a deal that could literally be life or death. He’ll go to any extreme to get what he needs…even if that means becoming someone else to win her back.

But a little lie becomes a large mess when they’re stranded on a deserted island together, and old misunderstandings might ruin their chance at new love…

Buy Links: Amazon | B&N | iTunes

divider14fddc-5interview

Thanks so much for having me! I love chatting about, well, me 😉 and my characters so I really appreciate the chance to come over and catch up.

 

Tell us a little about your book?

It’s an amnesia title, something I love but which lots of people tell me should have stayed in the 90s. But heck, I like a challenge, so hot as a chocolate muffin straight from the oven, Love Lost and Found brings you steamy, sultry romance with a tropical flavor and delicious characters.

Felicity Williams can’t remember the last five years thanks to an accident that wiped out her memory. She fled her old life in hopes of starting fresh and found refuge working on a cruise ship. But her past is coming for her…

Rick McCarthy wakes after a climbing accident to discover that his business partner and fiancée has quit her job and disappeared. He’s trying to accept that she’s run out on him, but now he needs her signature to close a deal that could literally be life or death. He’ll go to any extreme to get what he needs…even if that means becoming someone else to win her back. But a little lie becomes a large mess when they’re stranded on a deserted island together, and old misunderstandings might ruin their chance at new love…

How much emotion does it take from you to write?

A fair bit. When I get to the hero’s dark moment I have to make sure I maintain empathy for both characters while still pulling his world apart. But usually by this stage I’m so “in” to the book the words start coming without me necessarily having to think too hard about them. It’s just a little brutal on the characters.

What is your favorite part of the book?

I love it when Rick and Felicity are stuck on the island. We start to really see her random vocabulary coming out and watch her struggle with how much she likes Rick but how she soooo shouldn’t go there. I’ve travelled around the Pacific quite a lot and based this island on a real deserted tropical paradise I visited – that did even have a “curse” on it so that the locals wouldn’t stay the night there. It was, as you can imagine, amazingly beautiful.

You can only pick 3 words for your main characters…what would they be?

Smart (she has a Harvard MBA), Sparky (she sometimes opens her mouth without thinking too hard what the Captain might think) and Lost (losing five years of your life has got to be hard to cope with I think)

Which was the easiest character to write and the hardest ~ and why?

Felicity. I’d already sketched her out in The Boss and Her Billionaire, so I knew how she talked, what little idiosyncrasies she’d pop into her vocab and I knew she had a great knack for coming up with nicknames. That was really fun.

The Private Investigator, Anna Beard was a funny little cameo that a friend had begged me to include. She’d always wanted to be a Private Investigator and she’s a larger than life personality, so it was hard to just give her such a bit part. She might have to reappear in another book later on.

How many books are you shooting for in this series?

There is another title to come early next year – at this stage it’s called Tempted by the Boss’s Daughter. It follows Double Dimples Jeremy, who is hawt hawt hawt, and as you might have guessed, The Captain’s Daughter: a red-headed, long legged, nasty mouthed chef, who is a LOT of fun. It ramps up the heat even more!

What are you currently working on?

I’m actually about to have a baby – like reeeeeally soon. But I’m still trying to madly finish a couple of books in my next release with Entangled Indulgence – a three book series set around three girlfriends in the ASP – Association of Surfing Professionals. It’s easy to see why surfers are so sexy – they spend their days dripping wet and topless. The sport abounds with lean bodies in peak perfection, grim determination, competition and focus, and it’s not just for boys.

The extreme sport of surfing isn’t completely about bleached blond hair and guys called dude. The Association of Professional Surfing runs every professional surfing event in the world and it’s big business, big money and big pressure, with male and female pros chasing the endless summer to fulfill commercial contracts, surf comps and personal ambitions. But coupled with hard work and fierce competition, the ladies and men of surfing travel to the world’s most romantic and beautiful locations (Australia, France, Brazil, Indonesia, Hawaii) in search of the perfect ride, and perhaps, the perfect love.

How do you deal with unruly characters? When they won’t cooperate and don’t do what you expected?

I’ve just had one of those and you know what? I put her in a drawer for a month and when I took her out again not only did she behave better, but I liked her more and was probably better able to pull her smart dialogue out of her mouth!

What’s one thing that you enjoy about writing?

Can I say the thill of the chase 😉 I love being alone with my characters, running through their heads onto the page and when I look up, realizing that a whole life has spilled out of my fingertips. Chasing that first spark of an idea down the crazy rabbit hole until it sits there, fully formed as a book is one of the most gratifying experiences around I think.

Since we’re cover hussies….what was your first impression of your cover?

I have to admit I was super stoked to see that the heroine got to keep her freckles! Sometimes the models that end up on the cover have much less resemblance to what you had in mind as you were writing, so I was very chuffed to see that feature, as well as Felicity’s blonde hair and Rick’s rather lovely chest, making an appearance.

What do you prefer ebooks or paperbacks?

I like to read romance in ebook form. Maybe because I can have a bigger stash of books ready to go that way. But I’m still a fan of paperbooks for other things and I love a big color-drenched cook book in hardback if I can possibly manage it.

Is there a genre you would like to write but are a little apprehensive to try?

I actually write literary novels and short stories under another name and have even put a few kids stories out in the world. I’ve written for magazines in my time too. I guess I’m a little intrigued by writing some full throttle erotica, but haven’t managed to get there yet, I’m definitely a little apprehensive over whether I’d pull it off. But who knows, maybe one day.

 

Okay…. personal time!!!! Oh yeah, I go there… Hahah…

 If you thought you were safe… Nah… Forgot it… Not a chance! We will start off slow and easy, I promise!

What is on your night stand? Well the other September Indulgence titles are there now and also Wicked by Jilly Cooper – because for some reason I always read her when I’m pregnant!

What are you listening to you right now? Right this second I’m listening to a young kiwi girl – OMG she’s only 16, called Lorde. You might have heard a bit of twitter noise about her covering a Kayne tune. She really does have quite a voice – especially for a 16 year old! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFasFq4GJYM

What are you reading right now? Boringly, I’m reading the next round of edits on book two of my Surf Series.

What is your favorite season? Holiday? New Years. Over here it’s summer – so it’s all about beaches, swimming and sunshine. Oh man, I’m looking forward to it already!

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? I love to read and I’ve got caught up in interiors recently as we’ve renovated our house and are about to build a new one – OMG the madness! Building a house with a new baby, what were we thinking! But I think the end result and getting to go crazy with paint will be worth it in the end again. You can have a sneaky peak inside our place for a magazine photoshoot recently. (http://www.micheledewinton.com/news.html) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icJIaiSaVtU

 

Quickie Time

 Dark or Milk Chocolate? Dark

Favorite color? Green

Left or right handed? Right

Junk or Health Food? Mostly Health food – until I really need that chocolate biscuit.

Night owl or early bird? Neither! Ha. I’d love to sleep in if I could, but my two year old and impending baby are stopping that from happening. But I’m not huge stay up all hours lady either anymore…sigh.

Leather or Lace? Leather.

Soft or Hard… Bed, where was your mind? Hahaha, hard, for sure!

Cowboy or businessman? How about a cowboy businessman? Surely that’s a thing? 😉

Tattoos or piercings? Tattoos for sure.

Hairy chests or smooth? Smooth, although my DH has a light scattering of hair which I’m very partial to.

Sexiest feature on a man? Broad shoulders and a slow smile.

Vampire or Werewolf? Werewolf – Can anyone say Joe Manganiello?!

Twitter and/or Facebook? Twitter for chat, Facebook for sharing the madness of the world.

Pinterest or not? Pinterest – especially for kid’s stuff – I had a rainbow party just last month and used heaps of ideas from Pinterest. Fun!

What’s the last thing you Googled? Aric Wiser – it was research – honest 😉 https://www.google.co.nz/search?q=aric+wiser&client=firefox-a&hs=Dds&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=Jp0vUqjJHMiriAehj4CwDg&ved=0CCsQsAQ&biw=1440&bih=796

Where can your fans find you?

Website – www.micheledewinton.com

Blog – www.micheledewinton.blogspot.co.nz

Twitter – @Micheledewinton

Goodreads – http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6443966.Michele_de_Winton

Facebook (author page.) – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Michele-de-Winton-Author-Page/155966894515844?ref=hl

Facebook (author profile page) – https://www.facebook.com/michele.dewinton

Pinterest – http://pinterest.com/MDWinton/

I also blog at The Naked Hero as The Luna goddess:

www.thenakedhero.com

Is there anything else you like to add?

I really love hearing from readers so do get in touch, you never know you might inspire my next character!

Thank you Michele for stopping by and answering our questions. And Congrats on the baby!

divider1

*Giveaway & Guest Post* Murphy's Law by Jennifery Lowery *Lyrical Press*

George appeared at Felicity’s door with a huge block of chocolate he’d somehow managed to wrangle from the kitchens. “I tried for ice cream but they only had it in twenty-liter tubs. I figured that wouldn’t do either of our figures any good. Have to say I didn’t think I’d be getting a call from you tonight. Certainly not one that started and ended with a command to bring cookies and cream.”

“Why not? I’m thinking of changing my food pyramid to have ice-cream at the top. I might as well go live in a nunnery for all the action I’m about to get.”

He gave her an odd look then rallied. “Oh, sweetcheeks, I think that would be a very bad idea. Can you image the havoc that would cause amongst the visiting monks? And you’d have to cover this glorious hair.”

“It’s hardly glorious. God, I’m a mess. No wonder he doesn’t love me. No one does. No one ever has except my parents and they’re dead. Oh my God, I sound so whiny, I’m never like this. Never.”

“Oh darling. We all love you.”

“Yes, but you have to. I’m in charge of paying you.”

“True. But we don’t have to like you. Here, stop that now, you’re getting blotchy.” George handed her a box of tissues and pushed her gently onto the bed.

Felicity gave a sniff and let her breath shudder out before she allowed herself to talk again. “I think you better hand over that chocolate.”

“That’s my girl.” Ripping open the packaging, George broke off a giant chunk. “I’d give you the whole block, but I think I better stay on ration duty, just till you’ve evened out. Don’t want you going into a sugar coma after you inhale the whole block in less than a minute.”

“Unfair. If a girl can’t ruin herself on chocolate, what’s the point of anything?”

divider1Out Now Post

Thanks so much for having me over to chat. I’m pretty dang excited that the second of my Love on Deck titles is out now and the third will follow early next year. Yeay.

a0f86-abouttheauthor1Michele was born in the mid 1970’s amid a burgeoning sprawl of vineyards and new retirement AuthorPichomes. With two teachers as parents, her love of reading and books was cemented at an early age. Being a writer however, was not was she was supposed to do when she ‘grew up’. Despite training in law (or perhaps because of it) she has been a dancer, producer, writer, and all round arty type in various countries for most of her life.

Moving into writing full time in 2010 was like being a part of a contemporary romance – perfect! Creating new worlds for her characters, or rather letting those same characters show her their worlds is now a highlight of Michele’s daily life. And falling in love over and over as each hero and heroine allow their true feelings to surface is something very special. What a treat to do it every day! Now back home in New Zealand after travelling extensively, Michele writes from an office where the sound of the tapping keyboard is only rivalled by the whisper of wind in the trees.

divider1tourwidegiveaway

Michele will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.


I encourage you to follow the tour and comment; the more youcomment, the better their chances of winning.

The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2013/09/virtual-nbtm-tour-love-lost-and-found.html

VBT_LoveLostAndFound_CoverBannerGoddessfish

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Thank you for hosting.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Mary Preston

     /  October 25, 2013

    I wasn’t aware that you wrote under another name. Why did you feel the need to use a different name?

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Like

    Reply
  3. Andra Lynn

     /  October 25, 2013

    Awesome Interview! I don’t mind that it’s an amnesia title 🙂

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

    Like

    Reply
  4. Rita Wray

     /  October 25, 2013

    Nice interview, I enjoyed it.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  5. Hi all, thanks for stopping by. Mary, I was writing literary titles before and there’s still a fair but of “interesting attitude” towards romance writers in the literary scene so I’ve kept my writing worlds apart. But also, the work is quite different. Never know though, those worlds may well collide some day. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Thanks for sharing the great interview and the excerpt. Sounds like a great book. evamillien at gmail dot com Thanks for sharing the giveaway.

    Like

    Reply
  7. bn100

     /  October 25, 2013

    Nice interview

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    Like

    Reply
  8. Chelsea B.

     /  October 25, 2013

    CONGRATULATIONS ON DA BB! D’awwww! 🙂
    Loved the interview!!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

    Like

    Reply
  9. Natasha

     /  October 26, 2013

    Great interview!
    Sounds like a great read!!
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    Like

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the giveaway. I would love to read this book. Sounds really good.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

