Interview with author Lizzie Ashworth (Hers to Choose)

interview

Please welcome Lizzie to The Lair. Grab a drink, pull up a chair and enjoy the interview 🙂

divider3

How much emotion does it take from you to write?

When I write, I’m all in. I’m in the place and the time of the story. If I have to go somewhere, it’s like I look up halfway there and try to figure out where I am in the real world, because my brain is still in the book. I don’t know how an author could write if they weren’t living through the character, and yes, that means feeling what they’re feeling.

What is your favorite part of the book? Hers to Choose cover

I have to admit I like the dom scenes best.

You can only pick 3 words for your main characters..what would they be?

Smart, conflicted, passionate

Which was the easiest character to write and the hardest ~ and why?

Dan with his angry, cold need to control was the easiest. Bryn was the hardest–she’s so complex, like so many modern women torn between her need to take care of herself and her desire to be taken care of.

How many books are you shooting for in this series?

Just two in the Cannon Cousins series. The second one is written, cooling off on a shelf.

What are you currently working on?

I’ve got two hotties in the works, not sure when they’ll be ready.

Do you have anything due to release soon?

The second book of the Cannon Cousins, His to Lose, is in the wings.

What’s one thing that you enjoy about writing?

The main thing about writing is that zen moment when you’re not really yourself, you’re a channel for this other person, the character, to take form. Zing! It’s kind of magic.

Since we’re cover hussies….what was your first impression of your cover?

I had a hell of a time with the cover. The physical characteristics of my characters are so specific, none of the models really fit. I ended up with a cover that conveyed the emotion between Bryn and Alex. I would have preferred something with a little more skin…but even with this I actually had to go back and change the hair color of Alex so he’d match.

What do you prefer ebooks or paperbacks?

I can’t say I have a preference. They both have good points. Obviously, ebooks are cheaper and so more people can afford to read them, while paperbacks let you snuggle up in weird places and fold back one side, do things you just can’t do with an e-reader.

Is there a genre you would like to write but are a little apprehensive to try?

Not really.

Okay…. personal time!!!! Oh yeah, I go there… Hahah…

 

If you thought you were safe… Nah… Forgot it… Not a chance! We will start off slow and easy, I promise!

What is on your night stand/dresser?

A clock, lamp, cherry lip balm, TV remote.

What are you listening to you right now?

Liquid Mind

What are you reading right now?

1960s interviews

What is your favorite season? Holiday?

Each season has something to offer, but fall and spring are my faves. You’ve got to realize, I live in the woods. In summer, the thick green leaves hide me away and there’s a constant din of katydids and tree frogs. In the winter, with the leaves gone I can see further, watch the deer roam around blending into the gray and brown. I don’t really have a favorite holiday.

And what has been your best b-day present ever?

An agate necklace.

Hard and Quick Time! Don’t think… Just answer! Okay, before we go this route, I will get us a refill on our drinks… I will be right back…

You know you do… Quickie time… Think fast….

Are you a quickie kind girl? When it’s happening, it’s time to run with it.

Dark or Milk Chocolate? Milk

Whipped or Melted? Whipped

Straight up or with a twist – sex? Straight up

What’s ur fave drink – in a glass or on him? glass

Spank or Flogger? neither

Junk or Health Food? both

Ties or Chains? ties

Leather or Lace? both

Soft or Hard… Bed, where was your mind? HARD

Control or Be Controlled? both

Hot Wax or Whip Cream? cream

Vampire or Werewolf? neither

Twitter and/or Facebook? FB

Pinterest or not? not yet

Thank you Lizzie for stopping by today

divider3

Hers to Choose coverHer to Choose

Lizzie Ashworth

Buy Link: Amazon

blurb

Bryn McClure is running out of time. With foreclosure in the last stages, she’s about to lose the beloved twelve-hundred acre Ozark farm she inherited from her grandparents. Her desperate last hope is to sell hunting rights for deer season.

Alex Cannon is running out of options. After a humiliating discovery about his wife, Alex’s cousin and property development business partner Dan has spiraled into a life-threatening depression. Alex hatches a brilliant idea of what might help Dan, and on advice from an old friend, contacts Bryn. A hunting trip might be the perfect route to a new outlook for Dan, especially with the extra touch Alex wants from Bryn.

When Bryn agrees to Alex’s special request, she’s thrilled not only with the promise of badly needed income, but also with the prospect of bondage and discipline. Her appetite for kink has sharpened during her lonely year of rural living. It seemed like such a good idea when she agreed to it.

But standing on her porch watching these two gorgeous men climb out of their truck and walk toward her, she thinks maybe she hadn’t fully appreciated how complicated things could become. Alex stuns her with his warmth and charm, but the cold and angry Dan is the one she’s supposed to submit to. By the second day, when the first spanking sparks her passions, she realizes she may be in for more than she expected.

Hers to Choose is an erotic romance including ménage and other sexy activities that would make your grandmother faint. This is the first of two books in the Cannon Cousins story.

divider3

0164c-6excerpt

“Miss McClure…” He had been talking while her mind drifted off.

She brought her gaze back to his face, trying to focus on the flinty stare and thin line of his lips. “Sorry, I was distracted. And can’t you call me Bryn?”

“I’ll try, but generally I prefer a more formal approach in business dealings. It keeps the relationship clear.”

“Like, you in charge, the other person in submission?” The words popped out before she edited herself. Her eyes grew large as she watched his face go through a change of expression. A slight smile hovered at the corner of his mouth.

“Yes, something like that. Might I get a refill?” He held up his empty glass.

“I have a degree in accounting, you know,” she retorted. “I spent six years in a well-paid position in that line of work, and I had good reviews.” She folded her arms. “If you’d like, I can download your accounting system and track everything in your preferred expense categories so you can import it when you’re ready.”

His mouth tugged at the corner again. Maybe amused, maybe not. It didn’t matter. Her temper flared at the idea he thought she needed to be spoon fed every step of the way.

“Look, Dan, I’d like to get something straight. I’m not an idiot. I somehow managed to get through life before I met you, and I’m sure I can continue to do so. I’m giving my full attention to this project. Is there anything you’ve found so far that I’ve screwed up?”

He scooted back his chair, and for a second she flashed back to his discipline sessions. A surge of wetness appeared in her panties and she breathed faster.

“No,” he said, standing up slowly and adjusting the waist of his slacks before coming around the table to stand beside her chair. “And we can’t afford for that to happen.”

He pulled her up, turned her toward him and lowered his mouth to hers, brushing over her lips. Was he going through the motions in order to prove something? Torment her? Should she resist? His hands made their way down her sides and over her buttocks before pulling her tight against his lower body. An erection pressed through his slacks and against her belly.

divider3

54b29-2abouttheauthor1

I love to write! It’s probably a sickness. No matter what I’m doing, my brain edits sentences, selects or discards words, equivocates over paragraph formation.

My favorite part of writing is description. I want my readers to see, smell, hear, and feel what is going on in the story as if they are there. What a great experience when the words are pouring through my head and spilling out onto the page, creating a physical world!

Other pursuits have taken up parts of my life–a technical profession for a career, three children, a burning desire to learn watercolor, cooking, and gardening, to name a few. But always there has been writing. It is with deep pleasure that I now have a chance to devote most of my time to writing.

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00DJWDJHC

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7171772.Lizzie_Ashworth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hi Lizzie,Thanks for being here today and for sharing the excerpt. Sounds like a really good book.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

