Interview & Spotlight: Sarah Castille-Against the Ropes

AgainstTheRopes-Castille75a99-1blurb

He scared me. He thrilled me. And after one touch, all I could think about was getting more…

Makayla never thought she’d set foot in an underground mixed-martial arts club. But if anyone needs a medic on hand, it’s these guys. Trouble is, at her first sight of the club’s owner she’s the one feeling breathless. All sleek muscle and restrained power, the man they call Torment plays to win at any cost.

Whether it’s in the ring or in the bedroom, he knows exactly when to use a soft touch and when to launch a full-on assault. He always knows just how far he can push. And he’s about to tempt Makayla in

ways she never imagined…

Buy Links:  Amazon  |  Barnes and Noble | Kobo

divider3

interview

Tell us what you’ve been up to since the last time you were here?

I’ve had a busy summer! Lots of edits, writing a new novella, and starting a new series. Camping under the stars. Visiting family. And discovering yes, indeed, you can be allergic to mosquito bites (Skeeter syndrome).

In this book, who was your favorite character to write and why?

My favorite character was actually a secondary character, Jake. He is a rough and gritty fighter, friends with Torment, and the ex boyfriend of the heroine’s friend. Although he came across as angry and distant, he was actually the most emotional character. He has a lot of love to give and in the follow-up book to Against the Ropes, he’ll have a chance to give it.

What was your favorite scene to write and the toughest?

My favorite scene to write was one in which Max/Torment is dancing with Makayla and he tries to convince her to do some naughty talking, although he knows he’s pushing her boundaries. He has to push slowly, coaxing her to open up, without scaring her away. And although she lets him go past her comfort zone, she doesn’t let him go all the way!

The most difficult scene to write was a confrontation in a garden shed. I don’t want to give anything away, but I struggled over Max’s actions. I suspected readers wouldn’t approve of what he did, but in the end I had to stay true to his character.

Can you tell us a little bit about your new book?Can you share a never before seen snippet?

Against the Ropes is the story of a struggling college grad who is seduced by the enigmatic owner of an underground fight club, only to discover she is not the only one with a secret to hide.

And here, for your reading pleasure, a never before seen snippet:

I lock up the first aid room and find Torment and Jimmy on the mats practicing grappling holds. Torment is lying on top of a stuffed leather grapple dummy. Unlike the dummies that resemble a man standing straight, this one has legs curved into a blow shape and arms bent up and over its head. Torment’s hips are between the dummy’s legs, his pelvis pressed against the juncture of the dummy’s thighs.

I have never seen anything as titillating in my life.

“It’s a submission dummy,” Torment says, looking up. “We just got it in. The arms and legs are flexible. It’s very useful for practicing arm bars, chokes, side mounts and submissions.”

“I’m sure it is,” I murmur. Sweat trickles down my back. I berate myself for my dirty mind. He is practicing a fight position using fight equipment. This is NOT sexual. Not in the least.

Torment talks Jimmy through the position and then slides down the dummy’s body until his head is where his hips used to be.

My breath catches in my throat. My head spins. I grasp one of the ring poles and hold on for dear life.

“Hmmm. It’s not working,” he says to Jimmy.

Really? It’s working pretty good for me. So good, in fact, I need to get home right away.

“I can’t get it,” Jimmy sighs.” It seemed easy when you had the dummy but I can’t break that triangle. I need to see it with a real person.” He looks up and catches my gaze. “Hey, Makayla. Can you give us a hand?”

I stiffen and shake my head. “I don’t know anything about grappling. I wouldn’t be any use.”

Torment gives me a wicked grin. “We just need a warm body.”

Oh God, so do I.

How do you go about picking character names? Do you have to get them just right and make sure they fit with the characters personality? Is there any character you found hard to name?

Usually I’ll have a character name in my head before I start a story. In Against the Ropes I knew I wanted the main character to be named Makayla. To me the name is quirky but innocent, a perfect fit. My fighter needed two names. Torment was perfect because he is tormented and torments his opponents in the ring, and Max was a strong name that seemed to suit him.

If I don’t feel inspired, I’ll look through baby name books and in the case of Against the Ropes, I looked through rosters of fighters from different countries for ideas. The only character I had trouble naming was Rampage. He is big, fierce but clumsy. When I saw the name on one of the fighter lists, I knew it was him.

For new readers, what book of yours would you recommend they start with & why?

I write both contemporary erotic romance and romantic suspense, so it depends on a reader’s preference. Legal Heat and its sequel, Barely Undercover, blend both romance and a suspense element with a dash of murder and mayhem. The characters are more mature and they are written from the third person POV. Against the Ropes is focused solely on the characters’ relationship with no suspense element. The characters are younger, less mature, and it is written from a first person POV. There is a lot more humor in Against the Ropes.

Do you have any little rituals you do before or during your writing process?

I just hope I get ten clear minutes before I’m interrupted.

What’s the weirdest thing you got inspiration from?

I was shopping with a girlfriend and she refused to try on any jeans because of what she called her “muffin top.” I thought, “Hey, Makayla should have one of those!”

Do you have a favorite cover? Which one and why is it your favorite?

Against the Ropes is my favorite cover. Just look at him!

What’s coming up in the future?

I’ll be releasing a novella set in the MMA world in an anthology, Unraveled, in November. The second book in the Legal Heat series, Barely Undercover, will be released in December. It tells the story of a feisty private investigator who discovers the cop who broke her heart is working undercover in the biker gang she is trying to take down. And then the second book in the Against the Ropes series, In Your Corner, will be released next Spring!

What do you hope readers take away after reading one of your books?

I hope they are entertained!

Quickies

You’re granted 3 wishes, what would they be?

  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate
  • Hmmm. Did I mention chocolate?

What’s the last line you wrote from your current WIP?

“I got you.” His arms tightened around her, holding her secure, as fatigue tugged on her eyelids.

What’s your motto?

Try and try again.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

All Dressed Potato Chips

What are you hiding in your night stand? 😉

What am I not hiding in my night stand?

Boxers, Briefs or Commando?  Boxers. Only. Always.

Top or Bottom? Bottom with a twist.

PJs or nude?  PJs. Canadian winters are no so forgiving of nudity.

Hairy chests or smooth?  Real men, please. Hairy.

Sexiest feature on a man? E yes

Favorite Book?  Motorcycle Man by Kristen Ashley

Favorite TV Show?  Game of Thrones

Favorite color?  Red

***

Thanks very much to All I Want and More for hosting me today.

Sarah Castille

divider3

9ad83-excerpt

Run. I should run. But all I can do is stare.

His fight shorts are slung deliciously low on his narrow hips, hugging his powerful thighs. Hard, thick muscles ripple across the broad expanse of his chest, tapering down to a taut, corrugated abdomen. But most striking are the tattoos covering over half of his upper body—a hypnotizing cocktail of curving, flowing tribal designs that just beg to be touched.

He stops only a foot away and I crane my neck up to look at his face.

God is he gorgeous.

His high cheekbones are sharply cut, his jaw square, and his eyes dark brown and flecked with gold. His aquiline nose is slightly off-center, as if it had been broken and not properly reset, but instead of detracting from his breathtaking good looks, it gives him a dangerous appeal. His hair is hidden beneath a black bandana, but a few tawny, brown tufts have escaped from the edges and curl down past the base of his neck.

A smile ghosts his full lips as he studies me. A lithe and powerful animal assessing its prey.

My finely tuned instinct of self-preservation forces me back against the ropes and away from his intoxicating scent of soap and leather and the faintest kiss of the ocean.

“Excuse me…Torment. I…thought you forgot to buy a ticket, but…um…I don’t think you really need one. Do you?”

“A ticket?” His low-pitched, husky, sensual voice could seduce a saint. Or a young college grad trying to supplement her meager salary by selling tickets at a fight club.

My heart thunders in my chest and I lick my lips. His eyes lock on my mouth, and my tongue freezes mid-stroke before beating a hasty retreat behind my Pink Innocence glossed lips.

He steps forward and I press myself harder against the springy ropes, wincing as they bite into my skin through my thin T-shirt.

“Are you Amanda?”

With herculean effort, I manage to pry my tongue off the roof of my mouth. “I’m the best friend.”

He lifts an eyebrow. “Does the best friend have a name?”

“Mac.”

“Doesn’t suit you. Do you have a different name?”

“What do you mean a different name? That’s my name. Well, it’s my nickname. But that’s what people call me. I’m not going to choose another name just because you don’t like it.” My hands find my hips, and I give him my second-best scowl—my best scowl being reserved for less handsome irritating men.

His gaze drifts down to the bright white “FCUK Me” lettering now stretched tight across my overly generous breasts. With my every breath, the letters expand and retract like a flashing neon sign. I hate my sister.

He leans so close I can see every contour of bone and sinew in his chest and the more intricate patterns in his tribal tattoos. The flexible ropes accommodate my last retreat, and I brace myself, trembling, against them.

“What’s your real name?” he rumbles.

“Makayla.” Oh, betraying lips.

He smiles and his eyes crinkle at the corners. “Makayla is a beautiful name. I’ll call you Makayla.”

Heat roars through me like a tidal wave. He likes my name. “So…about that ticket—”

divider3

e23a2-2abouttheauthor1

Recovering lawyer,karate practitioner, and caffeine addict, Sarah Castille worked and traveled abroad Sarah-Castillebefore trading her briefcase and stilettos for a handful of magic beans and a home near the Canadian Rockies. Her steamy, contemporary romantic tales feature blazingly hot alpha heroes and the women who tame them.

CONTACT LINKS

Website http://www.sarahcastille.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook/sarahcastilleauthor.com

Twitter (@sarah_castille): http://www.twitter/sarah_castille.com

 Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6920675.Sarah_Castille

Newsletter: http://sarahcastille.us5.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=873de882785693c01f022e6a1&id=55ccf58aa3

Amazon Author: http://www.amazon.com/author/sarahcastille

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. elaing8

     /  September 11, 2013

    Thank you Sarah for stopping by today. I enjoyed reading your interview.
    Love,love this cover:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thanks very much and thanks to All I Want and More for hosting me today!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Lillie J. Roberts

Author of Paranormal Romance

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Sexy Writer's Hot Spot

A little bit of heaven through the written word...

Release Parties @ TRS

The best books from the romance genre's best authors.

evejeann's Blog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Project Black:Water of Knowledge

A new entertaining literary masterpiece!

